For Bloggers

All About Amazon Profiles (& Why You Need One)

Welcome to Week 5 on my series of resources for bloggers. Every week we will discuss a resource to get freebies, collect PR samples to review, network with other bloggers, connect with brands, and even earn a bit of cash on the side from sites that I know from personal experience are not scams. I will never recommend a site, app, or resource that I do not personally use and trust.

Week 5: Amazon Profiles

All About Amazon Reviewer Profiles & Why You Need One - Setting yourself up to get thousands of dollars in freebies

At first glance… this doesn’t look like the things we’ve covered in the past few weeks in this series. We’ve gone over sites that connect you with brands, or just let you get samples to review and do activities through. So why are we talking about Amazon Review Profiles?

Because I get offers daily for free products… and because the resources we cover over the next few weeks will require having an Amazon review profile with a few reviews on it.

Amazon is, of course, free to sign up, but I will tell you that the majority of the offers both emailed and in the future are a lot better for Prime members than non-prime.

There are US specific, and international options that will be coming all month under the topic of needing an Amazon profile. I highly recommend setting one up, or optimizing the one you have, this week, so that you are all ready to opt-in for the next opportunities.

There’s two ways to do this:

  1. You can fill out your profile and include your email address so that companies can contact you with offers… or…
  2. You can fill out your profile and keep your contact info off of it, but just use it as a resource for the upcoming weeks.

This… is my Amazon profile.

Go ahead, it opens in a new tab. You’ll still be here. You can even stalk what I’ve been reviewing lately. If you don’t want to navigate away, we’ll be covering everything in it now anyway, but most people are visual.

How To Set Up An Amazon Review(er) Profile

99% chance you’re already signed up for Amazon.

Go to “My Account” scroll alllll the way down to Personalization, and right under Community you’ll see Your Public Profile.

You guys are pretty good at setting up profiles, so I won’t go in depth with the basics, but if you have any questions, feel free to ask me in the comments! I’ll update with any information you guys think is necessary. This is what my profile looks like from the editor.

How To Set Up An Amazon Reviewer Profile

Your public name should be recognizable and easy to read. Either your actual name (you can use a last initial if you don’t want your name shown) or your blog name or a nickname. Make it appropriate, make it readable – DON’T use cutesy or text speak spelling, unless it’s your blog name, but if it is… you might want to use a nickname. Be professional. This entire profile is basically your pitch to a brand. MANY brands, actually.

Your email is optional. This is what could bring you spam. It won’t show up directly on your profile, but it will show up as a link. I have not gotten pure spam from this but have gotten ‘spammy’ Amazon offers, so that’s up to you. You WILL miss out on potential hidden gem offers if you leave this off. I have gotten 4 offers by email I’ve accepted. For reference – I get about 4 a day, and this has been since March or so.

If you’re skeptical about having your email out there. Set up another email to make public for your blog or site. You could also use this for subscriptions to blog newsletters or such.

Gmail is one of the most professional emails to use, though Outlook is good too. If you’re using Yahoo… set up a new email. Now. For everything. Yahoo is the email address that will make your resume get trashed, so why would you put it up to use professionally?

Your Bio is the biggest part of your pitch. This is what tells people if you’re a good candidate… and it gives brands that don’t want to click into your blog a quick reference to your writing style. A lot of brands will never read this, but a lot will. Write professionally but friendly, and DON’T openly pitch. Amazon has it’s own reviewer program and we aren’t actually pitching to them, and while it’s not forbidden or overtly frowned upon, it’s just a little rude to solicit things anyway.

My bio tells brands that I am a good candidate to review acne products, skincare, weight loss supplements or related products, planning materials, and all things beauty and photography. It also tells you that I’m open to trying other categories.

The Interests section is more of a keywords segment. If you’re on the extreme end of the spectrum in skin tone and looking for makeup, or have certain concerns like gluten free cooking, or main things you like reviewing, you can list them here. This will not show up on your profile directly.

Your Signature is what will show up with your messages. I like including my first name and my blog name, because it helps companies know what to call me, and it says if they REALLY paid attention and read my stuff, or if they just glanced. Not that it matters That much, but it’s nice to know who pays attention.

Occupation is debatable. If you work a 9-5 that isn’t your career, but you also write a beauty blog, it’s up to you which you put. Some companies prefer people not working ‘in the industry’ to review, but with others it will help you to be a beauty blogger because it gives you ‘cred’ and adds weight to your reviews. So you can weigh this out as you want.

Website, Location, & Social Media Links are pretty self explanatory, no?

Is my information safe if I create an Amazon review profile

Your privacy settings are a little different. You will need to have reviews public. Everything else is up to you. I choose to leave questions off because I don’t ask them often and when I do, I prefer them not to be searchable in my feed.

“Sensitive Activity” is everything from “adult” products, to some skincare, and jewelry (I guess in case it’s piercings?) Plus a lot of Women’s Fashion. I have it set by default to hide sensitive activities, but I manually unhide any reviews I like. For instance I reviewed a cute pair of panties a while back and set it to public because there was no issue with that review being public on my profile.

Enthusiast Status is basically a badge. It’s not really required, but it might help you stand out to brands if you’re eligible as someone that enjoys writing reviews.

This is what all of those answers translates into for your profile view.

All About Amazon Reviewer Profiles & Why You Need One

“See Less” ends at the end of my Bio, if you’re wondering.

Your profile picture should always be an in-focus, non-distracting photo of you. Never a logo. This is actually true for ALL profiles. Logos are impersonal and should only be used for profiles that multiple people of different households are managing.

Your “Lists” will only show up if they’re Public, by the way. I have 2 private lists and one that’s shareable by link that do not show up here.

We’re keeping this pretty short and sweet. So I’ve just got a challenge and a question for you this week.

Your Challenge:

Set up your Amazon Review(er) Profile, and optimize it like we’ve talked about for brands to know you’re a good candidate. Try to also get at least a few reviews up (I’d say no less than 5) for things you’ve either purchased on Amazon in the past, or things that you’ve bought other places or even sampled.

You are MUCH more likely to get offers/approved for upcoming opportunities if you’ve got a few reviews under your belt.

You DO NOT need to write a disclosure for items that you paid for yourself. It really, REALLY makes people look snotty. Especially on this platform. It’s also not necessary to disclaim if you got it in a sample box, unless you really want to. That’s only necessary if you’re a blog that receives a good amount of products free so that people would have to wonder if you paid for it or not. Amazon isn’t the place for that.

My Question/Offer:

If you guys have any questions about writing Amazon reviews – what should and shouldn’t be included, photos, length, how to write a good disclaimer, etc, let me know! If there’s a need for a post about writing a good Amazon review I’ll include it in the next few weeks. If you guys feel like you have a good handle on it already, we’ll skip that post and move onto other resources.

If you have any questions about writing a review, or setting up your profile, or if you’d like me to take a look at your profile and make suggestions, you’re welcome to leave your questions in the comments or email me at thatgeekygirlfriend@gmail.com.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you missed it, check out the other resources in this series: InfluensterBrandBackerCrowdTap, and BzzAgent, and make sure to check back next Monday when we over the first of the Amazon resources where you can claim freebies!

If you’re forgetful, just hit Follow on the blog, and it’ll be in your feed Monday morning!

One thought on “All About Amazon Profiles (& Why You Need One)

Hey girl!

