Boxes

Birchbox vs Ipsy Spoilers! {August 2016}

I’m cheating a bit, since I actually got my Birchbox in the mail today, but due to an allergic reaction to a product I tested this past week I won’t be able to try out the products yet so my unboxing is still upcoming. So we will go off the initial impressions as for all spoilers.

My August 2016 Ipsy Glambag

My August 2016 Ipsy Glambag

Lord&Berry 20100 maximatte crayon lipstick in Intimacy
SAMPLE: 0.06 oz for $10.90
FULL SIZE: 0.11 oz for $20.00

Beauty For Real I-LINE 24-7 Eyeliner in Black Magic
FULL SIZE SAMPLE for $14.00

Josie Maran Whipped Mud Mask in Vanilla Apricot
SAMPLE: 0.24 oz for $6.77
FULL SIZE: 1.7 oz for $48.00

Organic Surge Perfecting Face Polish
SAMPLE: 1 oz for $3.72
FULL SIZE: 2.5 oz for $9.31

NYX BORN TO GLOW LIQUID ILLUMINIZER
SAMPLE: 0.43 oz for $5.37
FULL SIZE: 0.6 oz for $7.50

Every item here matches my beauty profile for Ipsy. I love eyeliners, scrubs and masks, I had highlighters selected, and that I love lipsticks. The colors also should all work for me. So I’m very pleased with this bag overall and can’t wait to try the products this month!

My total bag value is about $40.76 this month for Ipsy.

My August 2016 Birchbox

wp-1470526202235.jpg

I left my box completely random this month because I’m not much into hair products, but all 3 would work for my hair type and I didn’t particularly care which I received. So here’s what I got this month!

SheaMoisture Fruit Fusion Coconut Water Weightless Creme Rinse
SAMPLE: 1 oz for $1.18
FULL SIZE: 13 oz for $10.99

SheaMoisture Fruit Fusion Coconut Water Weightless Shampoo
SAMPLE: 0.5 oz for $0.59
FULL SIZE: 13 oz for $10.99

This is actually the same exact shampoo/conditioner foil set in the VoxBox I got on the same day. So I’ll really get to thoroughly test it.

Marcelle Hydra-C 24H Energizing Hydrating Gel
SAMPLE: 0.24 oz for $3.67
FULL SIZE: 1.7 oz for $26.00

Beauty Protector Protect & Oil
SAMPLE: ?0.25 oz? for $1.75
FULL SIZE: 4 oz for $28.00

There’s no ounces listed on samples of Beauty Protector products that I’ve ever found. It looks like somewhere between 0.25 oz to 0.5 oz, so I went smaller on the estimate to keep from over-evaluating. If you know the oz please let me know! ๐Ÿ™‚

Avene Cleanance Cleansing Gel for Face and Body
SAMPLE: 0.84 oz for $2.48
FULL SIZE: 6.76 oz for $20.00

Stila Matte About You Trio Stay All Day in Patina
SAMPLE: 0.05 oz for $12.00
FULL SIZE: 0.10 oz for $24.00

this trio is actually a set of mini’s of the Stay All Day, I’m basing my pricing off of the full size individual product as I find it to be more accurate.

Manna Kadar Day Dream Palette Sample Bronzer Highighter Duo
FULL SIZE SAMPLE: 0.105 oz forย $21.00
DAY DREAM PALETTE SAMPLE: 0.105 oz for $1.17

Fun fact, this is actually able to be purchased on it’s own for $21.00, though Birchbox is correct that it was designed based off of the Day Dream Palette. I have this in “full size” from BB5 from a few months ago and… whadda ya know… it’s the same ounces listed on the back.

Unfortunately Manna K doesn’t list their ounces online, so my best knowledge is that you can purchase this sample for $21.00 (if anyone has a full size Bronzer/Highlighter purchased from Manna Kadar – not a subscription box, and knows the ounces on it 100%, please let me know! I’d love to find out), mine BOTH say 0.105 oz.

My Birchbox value is either $22.84 or $42.67, depending on the Manna Kadar duo.

If you’re tempted by either of these boxes, I’d love it if you’d use my link. I’m not affiliated with either box, but I do receive a referral credit which can be used to score some freebies, and it’s just cool knowing if my reviews helped someone decide!

Ipsy Sign-Up Link ———- Birchbox Sign-Up Link

PS: Have you seen my guide for How To Hack Ipsy?

2 thoughts on “Birchbox vs Ipsy Spoilers! {August 2016}

Hey girl!

