Lessons in Beauty

#BeautiesOnFire | Makeup & Mood: Finding my inner Ariel and Merida

finding my inner Merida and Ariel - matching your mood to makeup by changing your facial structure

There are many reasons that women choose to use makeup, one of the funnest ways is to reflect and exude the mood that you’re feeling that day. A bold lip to show that you’re feeling strong, a soft blush of youth and playfulness, long lashes to showcase your inner seductress. Whatever it is, I know for me, mood always plays into my makeup. So in honor of the Disney Princess theme that was chosen this week, I’m revealing my inner Ariel… and Merida. And all of the products for both sides of myself are the same except for three.

Mood Makeup my inner Ariel

My inner Ariel is fairly simple. I rounded out my brow with my Luxie Flat Definer brush using Puddin’ from the Too Faced Semi-Sweet Chocolate Bar palette since Ariel’s brows are a contrasting brown to her bright red hair, concealed a bit of the angle of my brow on the underside to enhance the roundness using my Hard Candy Glamoflauge concealer in Ultra Light, and brushed Coconut Cream onto the entire lid, with a little bit of Puddin’ coming back in using my Cover FX double sided contour brush for a hint of depth in my outer V and as my contour color. The lips are ColourPop Ultra Matte in Avenue blended with NYX Liquid Suede in Kitten Heels.

Mood Makeup my inner Merida

My inner Merida focused mainly on the brow – I camoflauged some of the tapered end of mine to bring it a little closer to hers (though brought it back with shadows in the end because it suits my face shape more), then featured Peanut Butter, Puddin’ Truffled, Bon Bon, AND Caramel from the Too Faced Semi Sweet palette to get the depth and shade closer to my hair color since Merida’s brows match her carrot top mop. I used Nougat and Peanut Butter together to loosely line the eye instead of making my lashes the bright orange that hers are, and used benefit They’re Real tinted primer for the lashes on that side, with treStique baby blush stick in Bora Bora Coral layered up thick from the apples of my cheeks to my hairline and down almost to my jaw line. Appeal Cosmetics Luxurious Lipstick in Crush was patted along that half of the lip and blotted away with a fingertip, before I used the Glamoflauge concealer again to highlight the outer rim of my face since her face is wider and shorter than mine.

Mood Makeup my inner Ariel and Merida

I did a mild contouring on my nose on the Merida side, but actually went over it from the Ariel side with more concealer because my nose slants at a bit of an angle and it balanced it out a little more (I really hate straight on face shots because of the angle of my nose, so you’ll rarely see perfectly straight on shots from me)

I finished off the looks with Not Your Mother’s Beach Babe Texturizing Sea Salt Spray with my head flipped down for extra volume (and Argan oil last night for shine, actually).

Mood Makeup - the products I used and the 3 differences in each look to transform from my inner Ariel to Merida

So what’s the difference in the looks? Just the outer 3 products on each side.

Ariel: Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara with ColourPop Avenue & NYX Kitten Heels.
Merida: treStique baby blush stick, Appeal Cosmetics lipstick, and They’re Real primer.

Simple changes like adding (or changing the placement of) blush, a bold lipstick, an angle or curve to your brow, even pulling your lashes straight up vs at an angle, can change the entire shape of your face and the energy you exude and how people around you perceive you and react to your energy.

Do you do your makeup differently based on your mood/ how you want to be perceived that day?

Make sure to check out the other lovely ladies in the #BeautiesOnFire Disney Princess collab. Remember if you’re interested in joining up, we’re always open to newbies!

Beauties-on-Fire-Logo

7 thoughts on “#BeautiesOnFire | Makeup & Mood: Finding my inner Ariel and Merida

  1. I have to admit that I have no idea who Merida is, but you’ve done brilliantly with both looks. My favourite definitely has to be Ariel though, you look beautiful as always. 🙂 It really is amazing how different products/colours/textures etc can change the whole face, I also wear my make-up differently depending on my mood, too, normally switching up either the eyes or lip colour whilst keeping the rest as I normally would.

    Like

  2. omg doing two looks was such an amazing idea and you did really great on both! I wish I would’ve thought of that for my post lol I was hurt that I didn’t create a Jasmine look!

    Like

Hey girl!

