Boxes

Ipsy Unbagging {July 2016}

About Ipsy: Ipsy is the $10/month beauty subscription bag known for being more ‘makeup’ based. They ship you 4-6 deluxe to full size samples every month, inside a cute or chic makeup bag, all wrapped up in a bright pink bubble-wrap envelope. Samples are somewhat customized to your beauty profile, and come from a variety of well known to indie brands, ranging from high end to drugstore prices. You can earn ~85 points each month for reviewing your products and bag, and sharing those reviews on Facebook or Twitter. These points can then be redeemed for specific point rewards (samples/cosmetics) varying in value.

Initial Impressions: Ipsy’s bag is iffy for me, but growing on me. The theme is… eh. Most of the products don’t seen to match what I’d curate for that theme as an Advertising girl and creating a campaign, but the reveal for my items was the most exciting of my (albeit very cut down) subscriptions this month.

What’s In The Box?

ipsy_july_2016_04

Eau Thermale Avenue Avene Thermal Spring Water
SAMPLE = 1.76 oz can
I heard SOO many people complain about getting this sample through either Birchbox or Ipsy… and okay, it’s canned water, I get it. That’s really what it is, it’s an aerosol can of water. But… I get heat sick. Like bad. Spraying this on my face and chest cooled me down SO fast when I couldn’t get to a cold shower or needed to instantly cool off. It helped cool my face before makeup without adding extra product – which made it go on smoother and last longer, and even using it daily for 2 weeks (sometimes multiple times a day) I still have a lot left. If you get heat sick or live where it’s dry or humid or hot, this isn’t a wasteful or luxury thing.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $9.00
My Value: $2.49
Will I buy it? I can’t justify the price, even if I can justify the product.
Full Size Price: $9.00

Ipsy July 2016 Unbagging theBalm Matte Kumar Matte Trimony Swatch

theBalm Meet Matte Trimony Eyeshadow in Matte Kumar
SAMPLE = 0.017 oz pan
I don’t have eyeshadow selected on my Ipsy account… but I did have theBalm 😦 . It’s not that I don’t love the color or the pigment, it’s really a very nice shadow, but I have a palette of hundreds of colors, so I probably have something similar to this. I am however keeping it to use in ‘singles’ challenges (eyeshadows, not dating) for variety, and have a few looks coming up this week from a Reddit challenge involving this. It kinda wrds me out to have a guys name on my face though, even if it’s punny. God theBalm is punny.
Rating: 4.5/5
Sample Value: $0.94 (based on oz total for palette)
My Value: $1.00
Will I buy it? I would look into more theBalm shadows if I ever need more eyeshadows.
Full Size Price: $42.00 for the palette

ipsy_july_2016_02

ipsy_july_2016_03

ipsy_july_2016_06

Thrive Causemetics Infinity Waterproof Eyeliner in Matte Black
FULL SIZE
I have not and will not open this until I use up my ColourPop black push up liner, but I actually love getting even black liners in my subscription boxes because they’re an everyday staple for me and not having to purchase them is great! I really love the ultra plush foamy smudge brush side of it and can’t wait to get use out of that. Plus this one mentions a donation to a woman in cancer treatment. Here’s the link to read more about their Causemetics, and information if you are interested in volunteering in one of their future events.
Rating: TBD
Sample Value: $22.00
My Value: $7.99
Will I buy it? This is a bit out of my price range when I have something I love for cheaper.
Full Size Price: $22.00

Not Soap, Radio – When life gives you too many lemons… and you’ve misplaced your happy place – joy inducing – hand/body lotion
SAMPLE = 0.67 oz tube
This is a very light and non greasy lotion, and the scent really is joy inducing. I love the fresh lemon scent and all of the Not Soap, Radio scents I’ve experienced so far, even the coconut one since the mango balanced it out nicely! This is not a super hydrating lotion, but is good for a quickly absorbed moisture enhanced gloss of the hands.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $0.95
My Value: $0.95
Will I buy it? I love the names but would not purchase it for myself due to price.
Full Size Price: $18.00

ipsy_july_2016_01

Luxie Beauty Rose Gold Small Angle Eye Brush
FULL SIZE
I can almost always use more angled brushes and more blending brushes, because I don’t mind being lazy and not washing them as frequently, and because different shapes, sizes, and densities are better for certain things than others. But I REALLY needed another angled brush and I’m so happy this was in my bag. Luxie is probably my favorite ‘brand name’ brush type.
Rating: 5/5
Sample Value: $10.00
My Value: $5.00
Will I buy it? I really adore Luxie brushes and would love to get more on a sale, but I think I will get lots from Ipsy and am excited to continue that trend.
Full Size Price: $10.00

Box Summary

ipsy_july_2016_04

Box Cost: $10.00/box
Box Rating: 4.5 of 5
Full Size Products: 2   Deluxe Samples: 3   Foils: 0
Total Sample Value: $42.89
Total Personal Value: $17.43
+ Added Value: no extra items redeemed this month
= Total Box Value = $17.43
Opinion: I’m really very happy with my bag this month. I got a full sized eyeliner and brush that will (once I move past my current liners) both be part of my daily routine, as well as a shadow that works well with my coloring, and two face/body care items that I’ll happily use up during these dehydrating months.

Pssst! My Hacking Ipsy guide goes live next week, subscribe now so you don’t miss it!

Sign-up for your first Ipsy Glambag before the 1st for the August glambag, or check out my other Ipsy reviews!

If my review convinced you to sign up, I very much appreciate if you would use my sign-up link. I am not affiliated with Ipsy, but do receive points for referrals as all subscribers do, which are redeemable for products in their Points section. 🙂

Hey! Let’s connect!
Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest
also feel free to add me on Facebook as a friend 🙂

5 thoughts on “Ipsy Unbagging {July 2016}

  1. I’ve never heard of or seen that “canned” water before but I think I’d like it! Montana gets to be over 100 degrees in the summer and it would be a huge help for when I get heat sick.

    Like

  2. Just a tip on the water… You can grab a Misto off of Amazon for $10 and fill it over and over again with distilled water for the same effect.

    Like

Hey girl!

