Boxes

Is Beauty Box 5 Worth It? and Why I Quit It

A 6 month Beauty Box 5 evaluation and breakdown answering Is Beauty Box 5 Worth It? by That Geeky Girlfriend

I told you it was coming, and here it is, my 6 month subscription evaluation of Beauty Box 5, complete with a financial breakdown, a full list of every product I received, and whether the box was worth it for my personal value when all was said and done.

My Experience With Beauty Box 5

Subscription Length: 6 months + 1 mystery box

Most Expensive Product: $29.00 Appeal Cosmetics Lipstick in Crush
Cheapest Product: $0.69 Soapbox Sea Minerals Body Wash

Highest Month [Retail] Value: May 2016 with $61.82
Lowest Month [Retail] Value: January 2016 with $26.05

Highest Personal Value: February 2016 with $31.48
Lowest Personal Value: January 2016 with $10.25

Favorite Month: February 2016 (5 star box!)
Least Favorite Month: March 2016

Most Products In One Box: March with 7
Least Products In One Box: most boxes were 5

Favorite Products: Epic Blend Hemp Blueberry Lip Balm, Elizabeth Mott You’re So Fine Liner in Glitterati, Elizabeth Mott Thank Me Later Eye Shadow Primer, Hemp Nation Kiwi Mango Body Wash, & Appeal Cosmetics Lipstick in Crush
Least Favorite Product: ColourMe Pink Fragrance, Glamour Dolls Glitter Liner in Jenna, Prestige Cosmetics Brow & Lash Brush, versaspa Gradual Tanning Face Moisturizer

Favorite Brand Discoveries: Elizabeth Mott, Jelly Pong Pong, Epic Blend, Starlooks, & Manna Kadar Beauty

Products I Would Repurchase: Epic Blend Lip Balm, Not Your Mother’s Sprays, & Elizabeth Mott You’re So Fine Liner in Glitterati (on sale)

Month Breakdown

Beauty Box 5 Mystery Box All Open

Initial Mystery Beauty Box 5

Retail Value: $34.65
Personal Value: $16.00
Products: 5
Products I Kept: 2
Included: bellapierre cosmetics Cheek&Lip Stain in Pink, Elite Therapeutics Rosemary Eucalyptus Body Creme, Nanacoco Lip Gloss in First Kiss, Revlon Colorstay Enamel in Velvet Rope, Extend Your Beauty Cosmetic Tool
Box Rating: 3.75

Beauty Box 5 January 2016

January 2016 Beauty Box 5

Retail Value: $26.05
Personal Value: $10.25
Products: 6
Products I Kept: 4 (3 used up)
Included: Bodipure Keratin Gloves, nails, inc. Nail Polish in Hyde Park Place, Scratch Custom Nail Wraps, Novex Bamboo Sprout Deep Conditioning Treatment, Not Your Mother’s Plump For Joy, Salon Grafix Professional Freezing Spray
Box Rating: 4.5

Beauty Box 5 February 2016

February 2016 Beauty Box 5

Retail Value: $50.48
Personal Value: $31.48
Products: 5
Products I Kept: 5 (1 used up)
Included: Manna Kadar Beauty 3in1 Shadow, Highlight, & Blush in Fantasy, Elizabeth Mott Thank Me Later Eye Shadow Primer, Starlooks Custom Lip Liner in Sultry Sangria, Epic Blend Premium Lip Balm in Blueberry Hemp, Hemp Nation Kiwi Mango Body Wash
Box Rating: 5.0

beautybox5-march-2016-unboxing.jpg.jpg

March 2016 Beauty Box 5

Retail Value: $51.73
Personal Value: $10.96
Products: 7
Products I Kept: 3 (2 used up)
Included: Colour Me Pink Fragrance, Mai Couture Blush Papiers in Prettyful, Mai Couture Blush Papiers in Sunset Blvd., Blue Lotus 4 in 1 Eye Adore Serum, Glamour Dolls Glitter Liner in Jenna Personail Custom Floral Nail Polish Wraps, Beauty Box 5 Custom Floral Temporary Tattoo
Box Rating: 2.5

Beauty Box 5 April 2016

April 2016 Beauty Box 5

Retail Value: $46.73
Personal Value: $16.28
Products: 5
Products I Kept: 1 (would have kept 3 more but had similar & gifted one)
Included: Soapbox Sea Minerals Body Wash, Jelly Pong Pong Paradise Pigment in Cake Pop, MaskerAide All Eyes On Me Hydrating Eye Gels, Chella Lip Pencil in Passionate Pink, Global Beauty Care Green Tea Makeup Remover Wipes
Box Rating: 2.5

Beauty Box 5 May 2016 Unboxing

May 2016 Beauty Box 5

Retail Value: $61.82
Personal Value: $27.27
Products: 5
Products I Kept: 2 (would have kept 2 more but had similar)
Included: Glamour Dolls Mermaid Lashes, Elizabeth Mott You’re So Fine Liner in Glitterati, Appeal Cosmetics Luxurious Lipstick in Crush, Briogeo Rosarco Milk Repairing Leave In Conditioning Spray, Mystic Tan Mocha-Kyssed Bronzer Lotion
Box Rating: 4.5

Beauty Box 5 June 2016

June 2016 Beauty Box 5

Retail Value: $54.60
Personal Value: $11.36
Products: 5
Products I Kept: 3 (1 used up)
Included: Prestige Cosmetics Brow & Lash Brush, Manna Kadar Radiance Bronzer & Highlighter Duo, SWEEP Oval Contour & Highlight Brush, versaspa Gradual Tanning Face Moisturizer, pur-lisse Blue Lotus Treatment Sheet Mask
Box Rating: 2.75

Is Beauty Box 5 Worth It?

I really believe that this box is well over it’s value at the $10/box price with the quarterly subscription. It’s been consistently between Birchbox and Ipsy in value, BUT… some months it has surpassed Ipsy’s product value too. Which is pretty impressive. This box is known to win as my favorite of the month and it genuinely is an exciting little treat to open, especially when some months it’s the first one into your mail box!

Who Should Get Beauty Box 5?

If you’ve had a bad experience with Ipsy… This is what I would recommend to you. If you’re looking for something with products that fit into your routine and make you feel luxurious in your everyday life, without adding hassle or BS… I’d recommend this to you. This has always been in my mind, the every-girl box. IF you’re only going to get one box a month, and want a mix of everything? This is the box.

Was It Worth It To Me?

I paid $54.00 total for this subscription across 6 months.
(+ 1 mystery box for $10.00 – I will include this separately)

This subscription would have been $72.00 for 6 months without the coupon and the quarterly subscription price (= $8/box for the first 3 months & $10 after)

I received $291.41 retail value in products across those 6 months.
(+$34.65 in my mystery box)

The total personal value of the products I received was $107.60.
(+$16.00 in my mystery box)

The retail value of the products I enjoyed was $247.50.
(+29.48 in my mystery box)

The personal value of the products I enjoyed was $97.29.
(+$12.00 in my mystery box)

So Why Did I Quit Beauty Box 5?

Purely financial. I haven’t started a new job yet, and I have a pre-paid subscription to Birchbox despite their recent failings so it’s not costing me any money, and Ipsy I get several bonus products with my points pretty frequently, so it was logical to keep that subscription going considering I can get my money back, basically, by passing on products I won’t use to others. My separation from my Beauty Box 5 subscription is ABSOLUTELY temporary. While they’ve had ups and downs for whether it’s a good month for me personally, I really believe in their company and their team, and they’ve given me some products that are in my routine every week if not every day.

If you would like to sign up for Beauty Box 5, you can sign-up here. I do not receive anything from you using my link, nor am I a Beauty Box 5 affiliate, but it shows a tally and I’d love to know if anyone discovered a new subscription box love!

Have you tried Beauty Box 5?

Hey! Let’s connect!
Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest
also feel free to add me on Facebook as a friend 🙂

One thought on “Is Beauty Box 5 Worth It? and Why I Quit It

Hey girl!

