Boxes

Battle of the Boxes {June 2016}

This month I received 4 beauty boxes. Birchbox, Ipsy, Beauty Box 5, and BeautyCon.

If you’ve read these battles before, you’ll know it’s the smallest amount I’ve received yet. (Just wait until July’s comes… that’s gonna blow your mind for how different it’ll be!)

My food & weight loss subscription boxes will not be included.

Battle of the Boxes

June 2016 Birchbox

Birchbox June 2016

Box Cost: $10.00 ($7.33 w/annual deal on sale)
Total Products: 5
Total Retail Value: $45.03
Total Personal Value: $15.23
Full Size Products: 1
Deluxe Samples: 4
One Time Use/Foils: 0
Items I Won’t Use: 0.5 – I got rid of the Oribe spray just because I don’t need it right now, but I could have used it and might have enjoyed it.
Favorite From Box: dr. brandt poredermabrasion

June 2016 Ipsy

Ipsy June 2016

Box Cost: $10.00
Total Products: 5 + 4
Total Retail Value: $46.36 + $82.00 = $128.36 total
Total Personal Value: $16.56 + $17.76 = $34.32 total
Full Size Products: 2 + 4 bonus full sized items
Deluxe Samples: 3
One Time Use/Foils: 0
Items I Won’t Use: 0.5 – I could have used the 3 tone bronzer/blush but I had enough similar products that it was more worth it for me to pass it on; + bonus items Trust Fund Beauty Lipstick in Try To Be Nice was just too cool toned and too sheer for me.
Favorite From Box: Urban Decay Fireball Eyeshadow, ColourPop Gel Liner in Swerve, Cake Beauty Delectable Balm; + bonus items IT Cosmetics sponge, em cosmetics dewy skin illuminizer.

June 2016 Beauty Box 5

Beauty Box 5 June 2016

Box Cost: $12.00 ($10.00 w/quarterly subscription)
Total Products: 5
Total Retail Value: $54.60
Total Personal Value: $11.36
Full Size Products: 3 (sheet mask counted as 1 time use)
Deluxe Samples: 1
One Time Use/Foils: 1 – sheet mask (is full size but 1 time use)
Items I Won’t Use: 2+ – Brow & Lash Brush was sharp and cheapie, I gave it to the boyfriend who is less accident prone for potential beard use, VersaSpa Gradual Tanning Face Moisturizer – no tanning stuff for me.
Favorite From Box: none

Summer 2016 BeautyCon

BeautyCon Summer 2016

Box Cost: $35.99 w/shipping ($19.36 w/annual deal on sale)
Total Products: 12 + discount card
Total Retail Value: $148.99
Total Personal Value: $47.53
Full Size Products: 8
Deluxe Samples: 2
One Time Use/Foils: 2 + discount card for The Edit
Items I Won’t Use: 4 – Benzac (didn’t like smell + didn’t see results), NYX Ombre Lip Duo in Peaches and Cream (way way way too neon for me), Redken Fashion Waves Spray (I don’t like feeling rough texture in my hair), VersaSpa Gradual Facial Tanner Moisturizer (no tanning stuff for me) + discount card for The Edit.
Favorite From Box: Too Faced Better Than Sex Waterproof Mascara DS, Smashbox Brow Tech in Taupe, Neutrogena Oil Cleanser

Product Breakdown

Winning Products

Biggest Retail Value in a Single Item

BeautyCon Summer 2016: $38.00 Cover FX Contour Brush (that I haven’t used)

Most Used Product

BeautyCon Summer 2016: Neutrogena Ultra Light Cleansing Oil

Most Improved With Use

Birchbox June 2016: Benefit Cosmetics Gimme Brow in medium shade
Ipsy June 2016: BONUS ITEM em cosmetics dewy skin illuminizer (until I learned this could be used as a highlighter I was all for getting rid of it without trying it)

Most Surprising Like(s)

Ipsy June 2016: BONUS ITEM em cosmetics dewy skin illuminizer
Ipsy June 2016: Crown Brush 3 Tone Bronzer (again, I didn’t keep this, but that’s just because I already had products that create a similar look and wanted to let someone else enjoy this)

Most Looked Forward To

BeautyCon Summer 2016: Too Faced Better Than Sex Waterproof Mascara
Birchbox June 2016: dr. brandt PoreDermabrasion
Ipsy June 2016: Urban Decay Eyeshadow (could have been Fireball or Lounge)
Ipsy June 2016: ColourPop Eyeliner (could have been Swerve or Get Paid)

Most Effective

BeautyCon Summer 2016: Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara

Failing Products

Biggest Disappointment(s)

Ipsy June 2016: BONUS ITEM: Trust Fund Beauty Lipgasm Lipstick in Try To Be Nice (too sheer and washed me out)
BeautyCon Summer 2016: NYX Ombre Lip Duo in Peaches & Cream (too neon)
BeautyCon Summer 2016: Benzac Acne Solutions Cleanser (smelled actually awful)
Beauty Box 5 June 2016 -AND- BeautyCon Summer 2016: versaspa face tanner (just no)

And then what we’re all reaaallly curious about…

Box Breakdown

Highest Retail Value

BeautyCon Summer 2016: with $148.99

Highest Personal Value

BeautyCon Summer 2016: with $47.53

Biggest Discount: Subscription vs Retail Sample Value

INCLUDING BONUS ITEMS: Ipsy June 2016: with 92% off
OFFICIALLY: BeautyCon Summer 2016:
with 87% off

Biggest Discount: Subscription vs Personal Value

BeautyCon Summer 2016: with 59% off.

Most Loved Products

Ipsy June 2016: with 3 + 2 bonus.
BeautyCon Summer 2016: with 3

Most Full Sized Products

BeautyCon Summer 2016: with 8 of 12

Most Improved With Product Use

Birchbox June 2016: with 4 of 5 items being less blah than expected (1 was not tried)

And the WINNING BOX:

Most Exciting To Open AND Most Satisfying…

Ipsy June 2016

IPSY! Not just because of my excessive bonus items, but Ipsy SHINED this month. If I wasn’t working on keeping a manageable collection, I would have kept every item in my ‘official’ bag (the 5 things arranged in and immediately above the bag itself, for quick reference), and I almost kept the Trust Fund Beauty lipstick as well! I actually put it in a box for sale for $5 and figured if it sold, I was getting more than my personal value of it back. Especially with the recent Birchbox changes since these boxes (and bag), Ipsy’s reward system showed just how well it can work out for you.

If you are interested in any of these boxes, you can sign-up here:

Birchbox (MONTH Box)
Ipsy (MONTH bag – if you get yourself off the wait list before 4/1)
Beauty Box 5 (before 9th: MONTH) use HALFOFF for $6.00 off — pair w/quarterly for $8/box
BeautyCon Box (Spring – until sold out) try bfffreeship for free shipping

NOT RECEIVED THIS MONTH, BUT RECOMMENDED:
Lip Monthly (current or next depending on inventory) use LIPLOVER to get your first bag for $5.00.
Target is NOT a subscription. They become available around the 1st of the month (give or take a few days) and sell out within a few hours.

Hey! Let’s Connect!
Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest
also feel free to add me on Facebook as a friend 🙂

5 thoughts on “Battle of the Boxes {June 2016}

    1. 3 of them I redeemed points for. I believe 250 points for IT Cosmetics sponge, 250 for the Mellow Cosmetics lipstick, and 500 for the Trust Fund lipstick. The em cosmetics lipstick wasn’t a bag item and wasn’t something I redeemed for, I have no idea why it was extra.

      Liked by 1 person

Hey girl!

