For Bloggers

Beauties on Fire: An Introduction & Collaboration Announcement

beauties on fire collab

So recently when I ‘kind of’ got my internet back, I got a chance to re-stalk my favorite blogs and came across the Beauties on Fire collaboration started by one of my favorite bloggers, Elisabeth at everythingandnothin.com. This is a group of fashion and beauty bloggers that will be putting up themed posts every Thursday, starting (after this introduction series) on June 21st. It’s open to new members, so if this is something you’re interested in, head on over to Elisbeth’s announcement post and get hooked up through our lovely hostess.

Beauties-on-Fire-Logo

Beauties On Fire

A big thanks to Andi who designed this gorgeous logo. I love it as a designer and as a ginger!

1) Tell us a little about your blog and why you decided to start blogging.

My blog is meant to fill some of the gaps between the bigger bloggers and beauty guru’s that seem to be able to conquer the world with their makeup skillz, and the nerd girls and tomboys that haven’t a clue what they’re doing. I love getting the chance to look at products, trends, subscriptions, and the world of beauty at large, from the eyes of the overly analytical cheapskate. If I’m using a product I want to make sure I’m REALLY getting my values worth, and that seems to be something other people are interested in reading as well.

I Started the blog because I was going through some pretty severe self esteem issues and disliking just about everything about myself physically and otherwise. This blog was a place that I could commit to myself to both becoming braver with my writing in the form of coming out of my shell, and to have some sort of schedule and format to mark down my experiences. And then I met the community in this beauty world and it felt like meeting instant friends. Every time my network grows, I know I’m connecting to another fellow beauty lover and making a new friend.

2) How long have you been blogging?

I’ve only been blogging like this since December, though I have written a private journal type blog for several years, and have done on and off blog like posts on various sites over the years. I temporarily wrote for MakeupTalk forums a few years ago and enjoyed that experience, but didn’t know how to move it to things I was actually passionate about at the time. I also started and deleted several abandoned project blogs about Photoshop and photography over the years.

3) Do you consider yourself a fashion blogger, beauty blogger, or both?

I consider myself a beauty blogger, with a sideline of girly life blogging. Just because my main format is beauty, doesn’t mean that some skincare, self esteem projects, planning, foodie, and organization posts wouldn’t be welcomed by my bloggie friends.

4) List 3 things you love to do besides blogging?

My Boyfriend Explains Makeup Tag

(this is my guy’s defining of each makeup product, check out his powder explanation, its priceless)

Spend time just being nerdy with my guy. Whether we’re reading comics or watching a movie or binge watching some show. That’s my absolute favorite part of every day. Just the time sharing something together from thousands of miles apart.

11-11-2015

(fyi, these are my & my guy’s plastic cardboard robot kids, Clark & Danbo, + Adi the Adipose)

Photography. I love having the ability to see something in a way that nobody else sees exactly the same as I do, and getting to capture that image and enhance it to share magic through pixels like you’re opening a veil to some fantasy world where everything is brighter and shining and glorious… it’s a magical experience.

11-11-2015-1

Organizing. I absolutely love organizing things. Lists, databases, alphabetizing. I might be a little OCD and a lot psychotic, and I might be better at organizing than keeping it organized, but that act of putting things into a new configuration is so soothing and calming to me. Bullet Journal 4 Life!

5) What style of makeup do you enjoy the most: Natural, Trendy, or Glamorous? Show us some of your best looks. Also, what is one beauty product you can’t live without and why?

I’d say I love trendy makeup the most, as far as viewing goes. I love experimenting with my own makeup and I’d say actually that editorial is my favorite look on myself, so halfway between trendy and glamorous. But I really love the way I look in a classic makeup look with simple lined eyes and a fresh clean base face. – And the beauty item I can’t live without is mascara! Those lashes tho!

my best looks

Most of these are from my #100DaysOfMakeup challenge, updated most often on my Instagram.

You can view all the introduction posts linked on Elisabeth’s blog, make sure to check out the other collab girls, I’m sure if you loved this post, you’ll love their blogs as well, and if you liked what you read of mine, be sure to check me out on social media too! I’d love to link up with you!

Hey! Let’s connect!
Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest
also feel free to add me on Facebook as a friend 🙂

15 thoughts on “Beauties on Fire: An Introduction & Collaboration Announcement

  1. Have I told you yet how much I adore your blog? Because I really do. You have a unique way of writing that just stands out from other’s, it’s true to you and it’s easy to pick up on. I’m actually becoming obsessed with popping on over here recently, so so happy you’re a part of the collaboration. Also… Clark, Adi and Danbo are way too cute! I love your pictures. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re so sweet! You made my day both the day I saw this and now when I’m not arguing with my internet connection to let me reply! I love your blog too, and don’t get to check it nearly enough because of internet hell, but I’m slowly getting caught up! I promised myself when I started blogging it would be the place that my weirdness flowed free and that it was OK as long as I added value with it. I’ve got to get back into using the boys in more photos. I’ve been terribly slacking as a plastic cardboard robot mommy. Though I’m pretty sure they’re digging around in my Birchbox at the moment come to think of it!

      Like

      1. That’s one of the best things I’ve heard in a long time “plastic cardboard robot mommy”, honestly, ‘weirdness’ is the best thing there is. Normality is boring anyway! Internet issues are the absolute worst, I got about a month behind on blogging earlier this year because of my ridiculous internet – how I survived it I don’t know! I’m really glad I made you smile though, I simply call it as I see it! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thanks sweetie 🙂 I’ve been trying to get more out of my comfort zone and luckily at the time being I can be as weird as I want and nobody sees (except the whole world of social media and anyone to come across the picture forever and ever).

      Like

  2. I am so so so so so so so happy you joined the collab love!! I love you blog so very much!!!! Plus you are just the bomb!! I totally didn’t know you wrote for MakeupTalk!! That is so awesome! I love that site…even though I haven’t been on there in forever!! I am definitely a beauty blogger too. I need so much help in the fashion department haha! You take gorgeous pics love!! I need to up my photography game!! Love the blue lips!! You rock them girl!

    Liked by 1 person

Hey girl!

