Boxes

Birchbox Everyday Magic {June 2016}

wp-1466799408827.jpg

About Birchbox: Birchbox is a $10/month subscription box filled with 5-7 beauty & samples every month, delivered to your door in an adorable and reusable box. You will primarily receive deluxe samples, with a few full size products every month or so. You fill out a profile and your beauty preferences, style, and demographics are matched to a pre-made box combination of products that they think best fits you – that contains items you haven’t received from them before.

NOTE: I will be doing a more thorough post on this, but Birchbox recently went through a large change that will fully take effect on June 11th – you will no longer receive monthly points for reviewing your products. Actually, current subscribers will receive 10 points each for their next 5 reviews after July 11th, and then you will NEVER receive points for reviewing again.

HOWEVER: Customer service says now that your reviews will help them curate your future boxes. This is not something that they ever claimed before.

Personally I am still on the fence about the change, because I counted a large part of my value as getting that $5-$7 back per box. I am hoping that they will recount this change and let you at least earn a couple bucks each month back, even if it’s only half as much as you could earn before.

Initial Impressions: I was kind of neutral on this box because there were things that I was really excited about, like the PoreDermabrasion, and the Gimme Brow, and also stuff I think is functional but not all that exciting, like the Dr. Jart+ Every Sun Day Fluid and the Briogeo Don’t Despair, Repair! Mask.

What’s In The Box?

wp-1466799408827.jpg

Briogeo Don’t Despair, Repair! Deep Conditioning Mask
SAMPLE = 0.98 oz tube
I haven’t tried this yet because I got it shortly before a trip and didn’t want to do anything new to my hair beforehand. I am excited to try it and despite not liking a ton of hair products in my box, I don’t mind this being one of my items.
Rating: TBD
Sample Value: $4.41
My Value: $3.25
Will I buy it? Probably not. I don’t buy excess hair products.
Full Size Price: $36.00

dr. brandt PoreDermabrasion
SAMPLE = 0.25 oz tube
I’d been wanting to try this product since my very first Birchbox, and I’m not remotely disappointed. I love the microscrub type feel and it made me feel like my skin was tighter and my larger pores felt tighter and cleaned the day after using it. It absolutely does not shrink pores because nothing does, but it’s the next best thing in skincare. Now if only it wasn’t so expensive.
Rating: 4.5/5
Sample Value: $7.25
My Value: $4.50
Will I buy it? It’s just too expensive to repurchase for me.
Full Size Price: $58.00

Oribe Dry Texturizing Spray
SAMPLE = 1 oz can
I haven’t purchased this quite yet. I really haven’t felt like doing my hair with new things and I got way too many products for hair.
Rating: TBD
Sample Value: $5.17
My Value: $1.99
Will I buy it? Not likely, it’s a bit pricey.
Full Size Price: $44.00

Dr. Jart+ Every Sun Day 30 UV Sun Fluid
SAMPLE = 0.84 oz bottle
I haven’t tried this yet either. I’m really slacking on this box aren’t I? It’s all useful stuff, but most of it isn’t stuff that’s like ‘oh yay try me right now!’.
Rating: TBD
Sample Value: $4.20
My Value: $1.50
Will I buy it? Another one that’s just too pricey for me.
Full Size Price: $34.00

wp-1466799553599.jpg

gimme brow in 002 (wearing a tank top, i swear)

Benefit Cosmetics gimme brow volumizing fiber gel in 002
FULL SIZE
I think my only real problem with this is the color is darker than I’m used to seeing on me. I thought light would be too light, so I got the mid tone, but either I should have gone with light, or I need an in between shade. I do like the way it thickens my brows and fills in the other patches, but it’s harder to work with due to the shade difference. I may experiment more or I may pass it on since I have another brow product now.
Rating: 3/5 in this shade for me, 4.25/5 for formula overall
Sample Value: $24.00
My Value: $3.99 in this shade
Will I buy it? I can’t justify that price just to do brows when I really feel fine without my brows being done at all.
Full Size Price: $24.00

Box Summary

wp-1466799408827.jpg

Box Cost: $10.00 (I paid $7.33 on an annual deal)
Box Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars
Full Size Products: 1 Deluxe Samples: 4
Total Sample Value: $45.03
Total Personal Value: $15.23
+ Added Value: $5.00 in store credit
= Total Box Value = $20.23
Opinion: This felt a lot more functional and less fun. I love SPF stuff, but I’m getting such an overload of it from BB lately and less of the colorful makeup stuff and I’m just not sure how to feel about that. I’m not sure how personal value will stick out once the store credit is gone either because that was one of the biggest perks to me in being a Birchbox subscriber. I will be continuing Birchbox through my annual sub that ends next February for sure.

Sign-up for Birchbox, or see more of my Birchbox reviews!

Hey! Let’s connect!
Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest
also feel free to add me on Facebook as a friend 🙂

One thought on “Birchbox Everyday Magic {June 2016}

Hey girl!

