Boxes

BeautyCon Unboxing {Summer 2016}

wp-1466711767692.jpg

About The BeautyCon Box: BeautyCon Box is a seasonal subscription box, normally totaling ~$35.99 per quarter once you add shipping. This is a completely curated, non-customized box, and every subscriber will receive the same things each quarter. The boxes are put together by popular gurus or celebs and seem to always include a mascara and a lippie among the various other beauty items and accessories.

Initial Impressions: I saw all of the products long before I got the box, and it was about 50/50 for what I was excited about and neutral about. I think it’s probably very rare to love Every product in a box this big when it’s not curated, so I think that getting over my value in the box was more than a good deal, especially because the retail value of the products that I like is far above what I paid. Heck, just one item that I like is above what I paid.

What’s In The Box?

wp-1466711753797.jpg

 

Benzac Acne Solutions Blemish Clearing Hydrator
FULL SIZE
I have major mixed feelings on this product. It smells… awful. Really really awful. But… it doesn’t sting. So if it works… I dunno. I can tolerate it because it doesn’t smell for long once it’s on your skin? But ugh it’s almost like swamp flower smell. I’m trying to continue using it to see if I get results. But I don’t know if I can stand it that long, but I do trust Kandee’s recommendation for skincare so I don’t know how to feel about this!
Rating: 3/5
Sample Value: $6.00
My Value: $3.99
Will I buy it? I won’t buy it. I might use it up if it shows results.
Full Size Price: $6.00

Cover FX Contour Brush
TOOL
I tried this more for bronzing and I really love the balance of product that it picks up and how it applies. I haven’t used it specifically for contouring yet just because I don’t contour often. But it feels very sturdy and is soft but thick bristled. I’d feel safe using this with a liquid, cream, or powder.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $38.00
My Value: $4.99
Will I buy it? I just can’t justify that price for a brush even if it was made of magic bristles that will make me look like a goddess.
Full Size Price: $38.00

Garnier SkinActive
FULL SIZE
I’ve heard AMAZING things about this, and I’ve been on a bit of a panel for Garnier for a while, but have yet to try this because I was using the Benzac that also works as a moisturizer. I’m excited to see how this works for em.
Rating: TBD
Sample Value: $14.99
My Value: $6.76
Will I buy it? TBD
Full Size Price: $14.99

LA Fresh Instant Cooling Body Soother Wipe
SAMPLE = 1 packette
I brought this down to Florida and it was sooo helpful on my flight home before the plane when it was roasting hot. If you get it on your lips or sensitive skin it has that almost so cold it burns sensation, but not an actual irritation. It was the perfect time for it to come right before my trip.
Rating: 4.5/5
Sample Value: $0.69
My Value: $0.69
Will I buy it? I avoid the heat, but if I couldn’t, maybe.
Full Size Price: $12.50 for 18 packettes

LA Fresh Oil-Free Face Cleanser Wipe
SAMPLE = 1 packette
I actually didn’t use this personally, but it seemed to work well for the boyfriend to get transferred lipstick off.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $0.49
My Value: $0.49
Will I buy it? I have my favorites that are cheaper, so no.
Full Size Price: $9.99 for 20 packettes

Neutrogena Ultra Light Cleansing Oil
FULL SIZE
I’ve been wanting to try Neutrogena products for a while and I definitely like this cleansing oil. I’ve found that while I do have oily skin, these take away the bad oils and leave the good ones so that it balances my skin, and just using Neutrogena makes me feel like I’m treating my skin right. Their branding message has definitely gotten to me already.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $8.99
My Value: $6.76
Will I buy it? Unsure, I usually prefer more of an acne fighting cleanser, but Neutrogena is good for your skin overall.
Full Size Price: $8.99

wp-1466713038937.jpg

NYX Ombre Lip Duo UNDER a gloss, for 3D/plumping effect + smashbox brow tech

NYX Cosmetics Ombre Lip Duo in Peaches & Cream
FULL SIZE
These colors are… almost unwearable, at least to me. They look garish and just wrong, but the shading concept in more wearable colors could be pretty great. The formula and technique do work as intended and give an ombre, 3D look for a more fuller lip look.
Rating: 4/5 for formula, 1/5 for colors.
Sample Value: $12.00
My Value: $1.49
Will I buy it? Not in these colors.
Full Size Price: $12.00

wp-1466801338368.jpg

NYX Cashmere, NYX Ombre Duo in Peaches & Cream, Smashbox Brow Tech in Taupe

NYX Cosmetics Jumbo Eye Pencil in Cashmere
FULL SIZE
I think the most helpful one to include would have been Milk as it’s a recommended base color for bright or intense eye looks, but Cashmere is a pretty golden tone that looks great on the inner corner of the eye and brightens any look subtly without being too warm or too pigmented. It’s very creamy and relatively long wearing even without primer.
Rating: 4.5/5
Sample Value: $4.50
My Value: $3.39
Will I buy it? I would purchase this formula again.
Full Size Price: $4.50

Redken Fashion Waves Sea Salt Spray
FULL SIZE
Everything about how I like my hair styled points to that I should enjoy a sea salt spray. Is there some technique with these that I’m just not getting? Regardless of formula I always feel like my hair is sticky and rough after I use one, so I don’t think it’s the products. I really think I need to research more into this. If you have any tips I would legit love to hear them! I do love a piecey textured look. Do you just put up with the feeling or not touch your hair after?
Rating: 4/5 – I mean it does what it says
Sample Value: $19.50
My Value: $3.99
Will I buy it? I just don’t think I’ll use this product.
Full Size Price: $19.50

wp-1466801004915.jpg

Smashbox Brow Tech in Taupe & RedKen Fashion Waves Spray

Smashbox Brow Tech Shaping Powder in Taupe
FULL SIZE
This is supposed to be a universal brow color and I don’t know about universal but it’s certainly a pretty accurate color for me. I had just gotten Gimme Brow in Birchbox but I actually think I like this better because it’s a powder rather than a gel. It looks very natural and is closer to the color I need.
Rating: 4.5/5
Sample Value: $25.00
My Value: $5.99
Will I buy it? I wouldn’t pay $25 to do my brows, but it’s a REALLY great product.
Full Size Price: $25.00

wp-1466801237091.jpg

Too Faced Better Than Sex Waterproof (yay goofy pic!)

Too Faced Better Than Sex Waterproof Mascara
SAMPLE = 0.17 oz tube
I’ve wanted to try this because of the name for so long, so of course I had to open it for my anniversary trip to see my guy. It’s not, you know, better than sex. Let’s just be blunt and say that. But It does last well through showers and the tears of going home without making you look like the close cousin of a raccoon during it’s Goth phase. It gave me decent length and volume but the biggest plus was the water resistance. And it had no weird smell.
Rating: 4.5/5
Sample Value: $14.48
My Value: $8.99
Will I buy it? I have so many mascaras that I love, this is definitely in them, but I don’t know if I’ll repurchase if I keep getting samples.
Full Size Price: $23.00

VersaSpa Face Moisturizing Gradual Tanner
SAMPLE = 0.25 oz tube
Nope. Not even going to open it. I don’t do ‘tan’. I’d gotten this in my BB5 this month and that didn’t get opened either.
Rating: N/A
Sample Value: $4.35
My Value: $0.00
Will I buy it? No
Full Size Price: $35.00

+ a promo card for the new Seventeen store The Edit – I won’t use this.

Box Summary

wp-1466711753797.jpg

Box Cost: $35.99 w/shipping (I paid $19.73 on a deal)
Box Rating: 3.75 out of 5 stars
Full Size Products: 8 Deluxe Samples: 2 Foils: 2
Total Sample Value: $148.99
Total Personal Value: $47.53
+ Added Value: The Edit Promo Card
= Total Box Value = $47.53
Opinion: I think this was a really good box curation, though I think my favorite BeautyCon box was still Winter 2015. It was worth it for me for the brush, cleanser, brow powder, mascara, moisturizer, and eye pencil alone, plus getting to try out the blemish hydrator and other products. I wish that the ombre lip duo had come in a better color set that was more wearable, but it definitely is a Kandee color combination.

You can get the Summer box until they run out for 50% off before shipping using the code SUMMER50, or view my past BeautyCon boxes.

Hey! Let’s connect!
Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest
also feel free to add me on Facebook as a friend 🙂

2 thoughts on “BeautyCon Unboxing {Summer 2016}

  1. I agree with you on the brush. Too hard to justify the price. Though if it were magic…and made me gorgeous…I might do it! 🙂 Hahahaha…. It’s always nice to try new things and better if they do what they say it does. Have a fab weekend!

    Like

Hey girl!

