Boxes

Beauty Box 5 Unboxing {June 2016}

About Beauty Box 5: Beauty Box 5 is a fun subscription box that sends you 5 deluxe samples and full size products every month in a cute teal box for $12.00 per month, or as low as $8.25 with a longer subscription term.

The boxes are curated, with a little variation to colors or flavors you receive such as with nail polish or lip balm. They do not currently tailor to your beauty profile, but are setting up to do so in the future, and their Instagram gives out great previews of what you can see in your box before it ships out by the 9th of the month. Their typical box is full of pretty, practical, and highly usable beauty products that add some extra fun to your beauty routine. Grab the box here!

(Use HALFOFF code for $6.00 off – 1/2 first box price – w/quarterly = $8.00/box for first 3 months)

When you place your order, you have the option if you’re super impatient (like me) to purchase an additional box: “The Mystery Box” for $10.00.

Initial Impressions: I was really neutral when opening this months box. I wasn’t overly excited or disappointed. There wasn’t any really good makeup stuff in my opinion, even though I do enjoy the MANNA K brand, but there was a brush that the retail price alone covers the box, but that’s not my value level for it based on offbrand items available.

What’s In The Box?wp-1466711739024.jpg

 

Prestige Cosmetics Brow & Lash Brush
TOOL
I really don’t like this at all. The edges weren’t smoothed down and it was a little sharp, plus it’s just not something I’d use, made apparent by the fact that it was rehomed to the boyfriend for potential beard use with the clarifier “if you don’t like it, feel free to toss it.”
Rating: 1/5
Sample Value: $3.25
My Value: $0.69
Will I buy it? No way.
Full Size Price: $3.25

MANNA KADAR Beauty Radiance Bronzer & Highlighter
FULL SIZE
I’m really not sure if I love or hate these little duos. I do love my Fantasy 3-in-1 from Manna Kadar, and my liquid lipstick from them, but since I NEVER bronze, and at the most I contour a little, this is more ‘meh’ to me. I’ll never get the Western trend of wanting to look like you’re made of chocolate and gold regardless of skintone and heritage. It looks great on the skintones that it works for, but too many girls go for it just because they think they should. That’s how we’ve got leather skinned ladies too, from that tanning trend.
Rating: 3.5/5
Sample Value: $24.00
My Value: $3.79
Will I buy it? No. It’s just not a duo type that works for me.
Full Size Price: $24.00

SWEEP Oval Contour & Highlight Brush
TOOL
I’m excited that they included this. I haven’t used it for it’s intention yet, but I did try it for my foundation, and due to my skin texture at the time, it didn’t work out that great for me. I think it takes a little getting used to, much like the beautyblender. But it was a very good move on BB5’s part to have this brush type be one of their items for June since it’s been trending on Instagram for months and it could bring them in a lot of people.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $15.00
My Value: $3.99
Will I buy it? Unsure. There’s cheap sets on Amazon, so I’d never pay full price for this.
Full Size Price: $15.00

versaspa Gradual Tanning Face Moisturizer
SAMPLE = 0.25 oz
You lost me at ‘tanning’. There’s a lovely range of skintones in the world. I’m at the very light end of it, and I don’t feel a need to darken my skin to meet a trend or traditional standard of beauty. I passed this on. I REALLY wish beauty boxes would permanently stop sending anything involved with tanning.
Rating: 1.5/5
Sample Value: $4.35
My Value: $1.00
Will I buy it? No chance in hell.
Full Size Price: $35.00

pur-lisse Blue Lotus Treatment Sheet Mask
1 mask
I used this the day I got it, and I don’t really have an opinion on it either way. My skin felt supple, but also sticky, and I felt like I had to wash off the excess since it never fully absorbed down to dry or even not-sticky. I do think $8.00 is too much for a single use sheet mask, though if you pay for spa experiences, maybe that’s more in your budget. I wasn’t particularly impressed.
Rating: 3.5/5
Sample Value: $8.00
My Value: $1.89
Will I buy it? Sheet masks yes, this sheet mask no.
Full Size Price: $8.00

Box Summary

wp-1466711747989.jpg

Box Cost: $12.00 (I paid $10/box with the quarterly deal)
Box Rating: 2 out of 5 stars.
Full Size Products: 3 Deluxe Samples: 1 Foils/One Time Use: 1
Total Sample Value: $54.60
Total Personal Value: $11.36
+ Added Value: $0.00
= Total Box Value = $11.36
Opinion: This box was pretty ‘meh’ for me, despite its high retail value. There was only 3 things that I’d contemplate using, and only 2 that I for sure wanted to try and keep. It’s my last box for a little while just due to finances and not needing a ton of makeup or skincare at the moment. I WILL be doing a ‘why I quit it’ post, summarizing all the details of what I got in value, etc over the length of my subscription, but since I’m a little backlogged due to my recent trip, it may take a bit and be in the lull between this months boxes and new ones.

Sign-up for Beauty Box 5, or check out the other Beauty Box 5 boxes I’ve received.

Hey! Let’s connect!
Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest
also feel free to add me on Facebook as a friend 🙂

8 thoughts on “Beauty Box 5 Unboxing {June 2016}

  1. Some boxes get a lot of hype for value but the prices just seem inflated for quality that isn’t there (this is why I haven’t tried Boxycharm or Glossybox, although Glossybox looks better). BeautyBox5 is located in Austin and I went to their Build a Box a few months ago and it was fun but again, the quality didn’t seem great compared to Birchbox, Allure, or even Ipsy. I am with you on banning the tanning. I do not need or want those products but I am always happy to receive SPF for my fair/light skin.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have a couple of brushes like the one you received, they’re really nice for smoothing out foundation and power. Gives an airbrushed appearance!
    Too bad the box isn’t that great overall!

    Liked by 1 person

Hey girl!

