Boxes · For Foodies

My First Love With Food Unboxing! {Non-Curated}

About: Love With Food is a healthy snacks box subscription with a curated selection of snacks that are good for you, and good for charity. With every box purchase, they donate a meal to one of the charitable food banks such as the Feeding America Network and No Kid Hungry. Plans vary from $9.99/month Tasting Box for 8-10 snacks, $19.99/month Deluxe Box for 16-20 snacks, and $24.99/month for the Gluten Free 10-12 snack box.

They release a few spoilers the month before, and you must be subscribed before the 1st of the month in order to get that months curated box. You can also earn points to redeem products through reviewing products, signing-up with Facebook, adding recipes, referring friends and more. 1000 points redeems for $10 in store. There are discounts for 3 month, 6 month, and 12 month subscription.

All box types are curated to include no artificial flavoring or coloring, no trans fats, no hydrogenated oils, no high fructose corn syrup, and all products are organic or all natural. Boxes are billed on the 1st of the month, and you’ll get your boxes normally between the 15th and 24th of each month. You can purchase a bonus box to get one sooner. Sign up using my link to get 50% off your first box of any type.

Initial Impressions: I was disappointed when I got this box for one reason: I didn’t read the FAQ. For once. I subscribed after the first and as such did not get the May box, I got an in-between box – the bonus box. I had been hoping for the treats in the May box because it was delicious popcorns and such. But I was really happy once I understood the system with what I got. NOTE: I cancelled for the June box because the snacks disinterested me, but I may resubscribe for July.

What’s In The Box?

lovewithfood uncurated may 2016

 

Lotus Biscoff
SAMPLE = 1 biscuit cookie
This really didn’t impress me, at all. It was kinda dry. Just basically an airplane cookie.
Rating: 1.5/5
Sample Value: $0.16
My Value: $0.25
Will I buy it? Nah.
Full Size Price: $20.99 for 125

hillisdecandy Go Organic – Organic Hard Candies
1 – 3.5 oz bag of hard candies.
These are delicious, and I actually have an alterior motive for them: They’re perfect dropped into a cup of tea, or sipping a hot tea through them! They taste just like pure honey, something I won’t claim I’ve ever just squirted onto my finger and licked off.
Rating: 4.5/5
Sample Value: $6.00
My Value: $4.99
Will I buy it? I would look for something similar, and consider them if I drank tea in an on-the-go environment more often where I don’t want to carry around a bottle of honey.
Full Size Price: $17.99 for 3 bags.

Luna Minis Chocolate Peppermint Stick
1 mini bar
I’d never tried a Luna bar before.. and honestly it wasn’t really impressive for me. Maybe it’s the particular flavor? But I just wasn’t a fan. I didn’t actually finish the bar.
Rating: 1.5/5
Sample Value: $1.13
My Value: $1.00
Will I buy it? No. I probably won’t go for a Luna bar again unless I receive one.
Full Size Price: $17.00 for 15.

Loacker Minis Napolitaner
1 – 0.35 oz cookie
This was decent. Pretty dry but just a nice little snack bite. Kind of chocolaty like the wafer cookies.
Rating: 2.5/5
Sample Value: $0.36
My Value: $0.50
Will I buy it? Not impressive enough to seek out.
Full Size Price: $15.99 for 45.

lovewithfood rooibos tea

DAVIDsTEA coco chai rooibos
SAMPLE = 1 individual tea bag (0.11 oz)
This sounds like a delicious spicy little tea and I’d like everything in it… except coconut flakes. So it’s being passed onto the bf. He’s got a legit Target beauty box full of various subscription box items I’m pawning off on  him. But I think this is an awesome sample and just the explanations about the flavors as well as the ingredients look and sound divine. I’m glad I got another flavor of them to try! The flavor description is: “If you’re into spice-based chais, this one is for you. It’s got a smooth base of caffeine-free rooibos, and a satisfying kick of cinnamon, ginger, cardamom and piquant pink peppercorns. Plus there’s a strong hint of coconut, for a slightly exotic twist. Try it straight up or infused in hot milk for a truly fabulous chai latte. It’s the kind of thing you get addicted to.”
Rating: N/A
Sample Value: $0.43
My Value: $1.00 for a good cup of tea at home.
Will I buy it? Not this kind, except maybe as a gift.
Full Size Price: $7.98 for 2 oz.

DAVIDsTEA quanzhou milk oolong
SAMPLE = 1 individual tea bag (0.11 oz)
I’m so excited to try this. It sounds so creamy and herbal and sweet and I really do love a good tea. I just haven’t been able to decide if I want to try this cold or hot!?!? How do you decide!?! Totally my style and flavor type from the description: “This ultra-rare oolong from the Wuyi Mountains of China is velvety smooth and lightly creamy, with a subtle hint of orchid. It’s said that it came about when the moon fell in love with a comet. The comet passed her by, as comets will do. The moon cried milky tears, which chilled the tea fields, withering the leaves and giving them a delicate creaminess. It’s been a rare luxury ever since.” Doesn’t that just make you want to drink right up??? The brand is focused on excellent tasting teas, both unique and traditional. They even have a chocolate mint dessert tea and a red velvet tea!! And I love that they include cooking and preparation instructions right down to steeping time and temperature for iced and hot versions.
Rating: TBD
Sample Value: $0.76
My Value: $1.00 for a good cup of tea at home.
Will I buy it? Even without trying this, I know I want to order more from DAVIDsTEA.
Full Size Price: $13.98 for 2 oz.

The Better Chip Sweet Corn Whole Grain Chips
1 – 1.5 oz bag
These are pretty average. I’m neutral on them. If you like whole grain chips, maybe these are great for you? For me I’d prefer something that tastes a little more like what I’m used to. The texture was (probably obviously) a little more grainy too than I like.
Rating: 2/5
Sample Value: $0.80
My Value: $0.95
Will I buy it? Not a flavor I enjoy.
Full Size Price: $0.80

Sensible Foods Sweet Corn Dried Snacks
1 – 0.42 oz bag
I… don’t like these. Not one bit. Because? It’s exactly what it says it is. It’s DRIED CORN. DRIED. DEHYDRATED. SWEET. CORN. If you’re really into southern/midwestern food and leftovers as snacks, you might love this. But I am not the type that is going to reach for a bag of dried corn. They did however, taste EXACTLY like room temperature sweet corn.
Rating: 3/5
Sample Value: $3.50
My Value: $0.99
Will I buy it? No. Not my thing.
Full Size Price: $42.00 for 12 bags.

Love With Food Chapstick
FULL SIZE
Decent basic chapstick. I love clear unscented chapsticks because when your lips get chapped around the edges you can take care of that too, and also use it as a mock Vaseline skin protector over blisters, elbows, or dry skin patches. pretty average. Nice to know it’s made with good ingredients though.
Rating: 3.5/5
Sample Value: $1.00?
My Value: $1.00?
Will I buy it? Nah, it’s branding material, not something special.
Full Size Price: $1.00?

Snikiddy Baked Mac n’ Cheese Puffs
1 – 0.75 oz bag
I’ve yet to try these because I’m a REALLY nice girlfriend and knew my guy would want to try them together. They’re legitly packed into my suitcase at this exact moment.
Rating: TBD
Sample Value: $0.94
My Value: $0.94
Will I buy it? I would definitely grab these if I see them in a store. Unless they are just awful tasting. Let’s find out!
Full Size Price: $0.94

Box Summary

lovewithfood uncurated may 2016

Box Cost: $9.99 (I paid $7.99 on a deal – you can pay less!)
Box Rating: 3 out of 5 stars
Full Size Products: 6   Deluxe Samples: 4
Total Sample Value: $15.08
Total Personal Value: $12.62
+ Added Value: $35.00 off HelloFresh (won’t use) + $100 off $160+ wine order (won’t use)
= Total Box Value = $12.62
Opinion: This box was very average, but it also wasn’t one of their curated boxes. Based on this box, it would be a toss-up if I kept the subscription. But I do intend to resubscribe in a future month once I see spoilers because it’s a great deal on the box and you get healthier options delivered to your door so that you don’t wind up in that snack aisle. Health is really big to me this year and I want to invest in this box for my personal well-being. You can sign up for 50% off your first box of any box size/type by using my link.

Hey! Let’s connect!
Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest
also feel free to add me on Facebook as a friend 🙂

Hey girl!

