Boxes

Birchbox Out of Doors {May 2016}

About Birchbox: Birchbox is a $10/month subscription box filled with 4-6 beauty & samples every month, delivered to your door in an adorable and reusable box. You will primarily receive deluxe samples, with a few full size products every month or so. Samples are moderately tailored to your beauty profile, and you can earn back $6.00 of your subscription cost in store credit every month by sharing your bag to social media (Facebook or Twitter) through the Birchbox website or app, and reviewing your items on the site.

Birchbox is currently unique in having the option each month to choose 1 of your samples from a selection, choose the curated box, OR leave your box random.

What’s In The Box?

birchbox may 2016 1

CoTZ Face Natural Skin Tone SPF 40
SAMPLE = 0.17 oz tube
This felt really nice and creamy without being greasy, but it was too dark and yellow for me, so it went into the magical box of disappearing makeup that goes to work with my mom.
Rating: 3/5
Sample Value: $2.40
My Value: $0.99
Will I buy it? No.
Full Size Price: $20.00

COOLA SPF 50 Sport Mango
SAMPLE = 0.34 oz tube
I really love COOLA, despite it’s price tag. I trust it to keep my skin protected on the days I’m going to be outdoors more than others. This will most likely be what comes with me to Florida because I know it’ll double as an SPF and Moisturizer with lots of protection.
Rating: 4.5/5
Sample Value: $2.17
My Value: $1.99
Will I buy it? No. Long term, COOLA is too expensive for me.
Full Size Price: $32.00

Beauty Protector Protect & Detangle Spray
SAMPLE = 1 oz spray bottle?
I haven’t used this much as I’ve been using up my 12 Benefits spray, but it definitely kept my hair from getting tangled even with bedhead, and it’s tamed flyaways nicely. It’s not sticky and the scent is subtle and not noticable once sprayed in. I didn’t notice any buildup of product either.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $2.93
My Value: $1.99
Will I buy it? I honestly get too much  hair stuff to need to buy this.
Full Size Price: $23.50

jouer liquid lipstick in lychee vs appeal cosmetics in crush

Comparison: Jouer Lychee (top) vs Appeal Cosmetics in Crush (bottom).
(also just because I already had Crush on my arm that day)

Jouer Long-Wear Lip Creme Liquid Lipstick in Lychee
SAMPLE = 0.10 oz mini
This is one of the best liquid lipsticks I’ve tried. From my limited experience, it’s right up there with Jeffree Star Cosmetics for me with longevity and transfer-proof-awesomeness. The color is muted mauve and gorgeous, a little different from my ColourPop Stingraye, and it’s muchh more comfortable to wear than ColourPop, even though those are mostly tolerable.
Rating: 4.5/5
Sample Value: $1.66
My Value: $2.99
Will I buy it? I would look for more from Jouer.
Full Size Price: $18.00

W3LL PEOPLE Bio Correct Multi Action Concealer
SAMPLE = 0.13 oz
I really don’t ‘get’ this product. It’s a concealer? Not sure why it’s so godawful expensive. But I’ve never understood the hype behind W3LL PEOPLE. Not even a quality question, because it does seem to blur out fine lines like on the back of your hand, but I do not understand the price tag at all.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $11.70
My Value: $1.59
Will I buy it? Nope. Not $20+ for a tiny concealer.
Full Size Price: $22.50

Box Summary

birchbox may 2016 1

Box Cost: $10.00 (I paid $7.33 with a deal on the annual subscription)
Box Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
Full Size Products: 0   Deluxe Samples: 0   Foils: 0
Total Sample Value: $20.86
Total Personal Value: $8.22
+ Added Value: $5.00 in points
= Total Box Value = $13.22
Opinion: This was a pretty good Birchbox for me. I only got rid of one item (CoTZ) and I got the awesome discovery of Jouer liquid lipsticks, plus another COOLA product and to finally try the infamous Beauty Protector spray. And there’s always the fact that it ends up being a $2.33 box once I earn my credits for reviewing.

Sign-up for Birchbox, or see more of my Birchbox reviews!

Hey! Let’s connect!
Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest
also feel free to add me on Facebook as a friend 🙂

One thought on “Birchbox Out of Doors {May 2016}

Hey girl!

