Boxes

Beauty Box 5 Unboxing! {May 2016}

About Beauty Box 5: Beauty Box 5 is a fun subscription box that sends you 5 deluxe samples and full size products every month in a cute teal box for $12.00 per month, or as low as $8.25 with a longer subscription term.

The boxes are curated, with a little variation to colors or flavors you receive such as with nail polish or lip balm. They do not currently tailor to your beauty profile, but are setting up to do so in the future, and their Instagram gives out great previews of what you can see in your box before it ships out by the 9th of the month. Their typical box is full of pretty, practical, and highly usable beauty products that add some extra fun to your beauty routine. Grab the box here!

(Use HALFOFF code for $6.00 off – 1/2 first box price – w/quarterly for $8.00/box.)

When you place your order, you have the option if you’re super impatient (like me) to purchase an additional box: “The Mystery Box” for $10.00.

This box’s theme was “Mer-May-d”

What’s In The Box?

Beauty Box 5 May 2016 Unboxing

Glamour Dolls Mermaid Lashes
FULL SIZE
I always love getting mascaras, because they’re such a hit or miss thing and you can find your holy grail at any price-point. I haven’t opened this because I have WAY too many open.
Rating: TBD
Sample Value: $4.99
My Value: $4.99 is a reasonable price, but I really can’t determine until after I use it.
Will I buy it? TBD
Full Size Price: $4.99

Elizabeth Mott You're So Fine Glitterati Appeal Cosmetics Crush Swatches

Appeal Cosmetics in Crush and Elizabeth Mott You’re So Fine in Glitterati.

Elizabeth Mott You’re So Fine Liner in Glitterati
FULL SIZE
This… is amazing. It’s the thinnest liquid liner I’ve ever worked with, with perfect pigment and zero smearing or smudging. It lasted through a crying fit, and the Glitterati formula has tiny barely noticeable specks of glitter dust in it that just add a little something to the otherwise perfectly black.
Rating: 5/5
Sample Value: $18.00
My Value: $12.00
Will I buy it? I hope I can grab it on a sale or discount but yesss this is worth repurchasing.
Full Size Price: $18.00

Crush & some comparisons

Appeal Cosmetics Crush next to some comparison lipsticks.

Appeal Cosmetics Luxurious Lipstick in Crush
FULL SIZE
PRETTY PRETTY PRETTY CORAL. I wasn’t sure if I’d like this, but it looks gorgeous on and it’s super pigmented and creamy. It wears pretty well through drinking but average through eating. I love using it as a lipstick and blush in one because it blends out so creamy and natural on the cheekbones. This is probably the best bullet lipstick I own and easily the best formula.
Rating: 4.5/5
Sample Value: $29.00
My Value: $7.00
Will I buy it? It’s a little too expensive for my tastes.
Full Size Price: $29.00

Briogeo Rosarco Milk Repairing Leave-In Conditioner
SAMPLE = 1 oz spray bottle
I tried this a few times and it was pretty neutral for me. It felt relatively conditioning but it wasn’t anything remarkable, I passed it onto my mom who is more into conditioning sprays and treatments than I am.
Rating: 3.5/5
Sample Value: $4.00
My Value: $1.59
Will I buy it? It’s just not my thing.
Full Size Price: $20.00

Mystic Tan Mocha Kyssed Bronzer Lotion
SAMPLE = 1 oz tube
This isn’t a product type I’d use, since I like my pale-princess thing more than a tan.
Rating: N/A
Sample Value: $5.83
My Value: $1.69
Will I buy it? Not my thing.
Full Size Price: $35.00

Box Summary

Box Cost: $12.00 (I paid $10/box with the quarterly subscription)
Box Rating: 4/5
Full Size Products: 3   Deluxe Samples: 2   Foils: 0
Total Sample Value: $61.82
Total Personal Value: $27.27
+ Added Value: $0.00
= Total Box Value = $27.27
Opinion: This was a really good box. Everything in it is a product type I’d like except for the bronzer lotion and both of the full sized and expensive products are one that I really really enjoyed and will be keeping. Beauty Box 5 definitely got back on their game this month after two months that really didn’t impress me.

Hey! Let’s connect!
Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest
also feel free to add me on Facebook as a friend 🙂

One thought on “Beauty Box 5 Unboxing! {May 2016}

Hey girl!

