Boxes

My Final Lip Monthly Bag & Why I Quit It {May 2016}

Lip Monthly Unbagging May 2016

About Lip Monthly: Lip Monthly is a $12.95/month subscription bag focusing on lip products. Each month you will receive 3-4 lip products, as well as a non-lip product, in deluxe samples or full size products with a guaranteed value of $35-$55 in each bag. The products are mailed in an envelope, and are packed into a Lip Monthly mini/travel makeup bag. They ship later in the month and have a variety of boutique to drugstore brands. If you’re a lippie lover, you can try them out here for just $5.00 by using the code LIPLOVER.

Initial Impressions: This… is the nicest Lip Monthly bag (contents and physical bag) that I’ve ever gotten. This actually makes me consider resubscribing in the future, but I am sticking to this being my last bag for a while, which I’ll go into more detail for at the end of the post after the product reviews.

What’s In The Box?

IMG_20160520_104345908

Jor’El Parker The Original Fango Mud Therapy [Mask]
SAMPLE = 1 oz tube
This mask does work rather well at clarifying and tightening skin. Jor’El Parker actually seems to be a Harvey Prince brand, whiichh would explain the not-as-pleasant-as-I’d-like scent. The nerd in me loves that it’s name is Jor-El, but I really haven’t noticed anything all that great about this.
I do disagree with the product card that this is worth $10, because I base my pricing on the full size, not overpriced travel sizes.
Rating: 3/5
Sample Value: $3.85
My Value: $1.99
Will I buy it? Not likely, no.
Full Size Price: $27.00

Lip Monthly May 2016

dirty little secret lipstick in guilty pleasure
FULL SIZE
I’ve seen DLS lipsticks on Ipsy before and wanted to try them, especially because they’re supposed to smell like Fruity Pebbles. I really love the scent. Easily the best scented lipstick I’ve ever tried. The only real problem I have with the brand is that their actual website’s images of the lipsticks on or in product photos are HORRENDOUSLY inaccurate. I would not recommend buying from them directly unless you check out swatches elsewhere. It swatches pretty opaque, and buildable to be completely opaque. This one is a very bright pink but somehow decently wearable. It’s average for long-wear and food-proof-ness.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $10.00
My Value: $3.99 for this bright of a shade
Will I buy it? I’ll be giving this a better wear test before deciding.
Full Size Price: $10.00

MANNA KADAR LIPLOCKED priming gloss stain in LUCKY
FULL SIZE
This is a pretty neat formula. I was already a fan of MannaK for their 3-in-1 blush/highlighter/eyeshadow. It applies like a liquid lipstick but doesn’t feel overly drying. It’s a pretty neutral nude and according to MannaK’s website it’s one of the shades recommended for light to medium skintones. I love that they have a shade matching guide for what you should use based on your skintone. This will be yet another color in my wear tests this month and I’m excited to play with it more.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $24.00
My Value: $8.99
Will I buy it? So far I love the formula, so on a deal, I might!
Full Size Price: $24.00

So Susan Jello Shot [Cheek & Lip Stain] in Hangover
FULL SIZE
So there’s really only one ‘shade’ of this, and every review sounds just about the same. I was excited but skeptical when I saw an orange fluid but since it’s sheer I would have worn it anyway. But it stains down to a natural flushed pink based on your body temperature. I LOVE that this doesn’t claim to be super technical. It’s heat based. It’s real and doesn’t try to be gimmicky with ‘color changing’. Once it’s applied, it’ll last through everything from a quesadilla to a DQ blizzard without budging. It blended great into a blush as long as you smear it out pretty quickly (I dotted it 3 times on my cheek before blending it out with my fingers). Just don’t mess up, because once it’s on, it’s ON. And you won’t feel like anything is applied, which makes this potentially my go-to for low-maintenance lip color, especially under darker lipsticks or if I want to change my base lip tone to change how a lipstick works.
Rating: 4.5/5
Sample Value: $24.95
My Value: $7.99
Will I buy it? The price is a little much, so I want to see how it lasts.
Full Size Price: $24.95

 

Box Summary

Lip Monthly Unbagging May 2016

Box Cost: $14.95 (I paid $9.73 on a deal)
Box Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
Full Size Products: 3   Deluxe Samples: 1   Foils: 0
Total Sample Value: $62.80
Total Personal Value: $22.96
+ Added Value: $1.99 for bag
= Total Box Value = $24.95
Opinion: This is the best bag I received from them due to the color variation and that everything was different formulas and shades. It was a lot nicer to receive variety to create a lot of different looks, rather than the same color in different brands and formulas and then when you test them all out you feel like your looks are being boring by the time you get through all the products. All of these items are high quality, and the only thing I may not keep is the mud  mask, which is a product type I like very much, but I have excess of it so I can be more picky.

Why I Cancelled Lip Monthly: The main reason is financial right now. I don’t need to renew at $12.95/bag. But the other aspect is I got SO many lippies from them. Think about that. 3 lippies for just 4 months is 12 new shades. You can only wear so many lipsticks. To me this is something to get quarterly from time to time when you’re needing some new shades and formulas to play with.

My Experience With Lip Monthly:

Subscription Length: 4 boxes (February 2016 – May 2016)
Most Expensive [Lip] Product:
So Susan Jello Shot in Hangover
Cheapest [Lip] Product: $1.99 NYC Expert Last in Snowcone
Highest Month [Retail] Value: $62.80 in May 2016
Lowest Month [Retail] Value: $30.98 in April 2016
Highest Personal Value: $24.95 in May 2016
Lowest Personal Value: $7.27 in April 2016.
Favorite Month: May 2016. Easily.
Least Favorite Month: April 2016. Also very easily. I kept 1 item from this.
Favorite Product: So Susan Jello Shot in Hangover.
Most Anticipated Product/Brand: dirty little secret
Biggest Product Failure: Harvey Prince Sincerely Body Creme
Best/Biggest Brands: Starlooks, dirty little secret, MANNA KADAR.
Most Obscure Brands: Pencil Me In, Prim Botanicals, Camilla Cosmetics

Month Breakdown:

Lip Monthly February 2016

Retail Value: $42.99
Personal Value: $10.48 (below subscription cost, above my cost)
Full Size Products: 3 of 4 (all lippies full sized)
Kept Products: 2 of 4
Included: NYC Expert Last Lip Color in Snowcone, Seraphine Vegan Berry Tint, Prim Botanicals Lip & Cheek Glow, Harvey Prince Sincerely Body Creme.
Bag Rating: 3.25 out of 5 stars

Lip Monthly March 2016

Retail Value: $42.49
Personal Value: $12.96 (below subscription cost, above my cost)
Full Sized Products: 4 of 4
Kept Products: 1 of 4 (only the non lip item)
Included: Camilla Cosmetics Lipstick in 23, Camilla Cosmetics Lipgloss in 23, Ecolips Tinted Balm in Sugarplum, Cargo Blush/Bronzer Duo. NOTE: I enjoyed Camilla Cosmetics, they just wouldn’t be as valuable to me as to someone else.
Bag Rating: 3.25 out of 5 stars

Lip Monthly April 2016

Retail Value: $30.98
Personal Value: $7.27 (below subscription cost and my cost)
Full Sized Products: 3 of 4 (2 lip products & 1 eyeliner)
Kept Products: 1 of 4
Included: Starlooks Gloss in Cuddle (mini), Glamour Dolls Gloss Snob in Twirl, Hikari Lipstick in Peony, Pencil Me In Eyeliner in Purple.
Bag Rating: 3 of 5 stars

Lip Monthly May 2016

Retail Value: $62.80
Personal Value: $24.95 (above subscription cost and my cost)
Full Sized Products: 3 of 4 (all lippies full sized)
Kept Products: 3 of 4
Included: Jor’El Parker The Original Fango Mud Therapy, dirty little secret lipstick in guilty pleasure, MANNA KADAR LIPLOCKED priming gloss stain in LUCKY, So Susan Jello Shot in Hangover.
Bag Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Is Lip Monthly Worth It?

It’s hit or miss. You can get really good and really crappy months, BUT, even if you know what shades or formulas you like, you can still get hit or miss products when you buy them outright. In my opinion it’s no more or less worth it than subscriptions like Birchbox or Ipsy.

Who Should Get Lip Monthly?

This would be an amazing gift to give to your friend that’s just getting into makeup, or for someone that just loves wearing lipsticks, glosses, and stains. This is great for anyone that loves a variety of colors and formulas and doesn’t already have an overwhelming or vast collection of lip products, or someone that does, but still wants more. It is a way to get lip products at below your cost, and I believe that the value balances out.

Was it worth it to me?

I paid $38.92 total for this subscription across 4 months.

(This subscription would be $51.80 for 4 months without their 1STFREE code on a 4 month membership)

I received $179.26 retail value in products across those 4 months.

The total personal value of the products I received was $55.66.

The retail value of products I kept is $97.94.

The personal value of products I kept is $34.74, not including makeup bags or the cost it would have gotten me for gas to go buy these products or shipping from their various websites. That’s just a few dollars below the subscription cost, and there was another $10.37 in lip products I could have kept that worked for me but I chose to list for sale instead, and if I didn’t have enough masks I would have kept the Jor’El ($1.99 personal value). So the total personal value for products I genuinely liked was actually $47.10.

I do not regret getting this subscription, despite it being hit or miss. It added some awesome things to my collection and introduced me to colors and brands I would not have found otherwise. It let me try formulas that I would not have spent my money on full-sized but I ended up enjoying, and part of the reason that my personal value is so low is because I am CHEAP. That’s never been hidden on this blog. If you are already someone that invests more in their products I believe you would have found higher value in the products than I did, and I already feel like I got my moneys worth. I will likely subscribe to Lip Monthly in the future.

The cancellation process is easy and online, and can be cancelled any time within your pre-paid subscription and I had no problem receiving my bags after my cancellation. You can sign up for Lip Monthly here.

Hey! Let’s connect!
Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest
also feel free to add me on Facebook as a friend 🙂

Hey girl!

