Boxes

Ipsy Unbagging! {May 2016}

Not like it’s the last day of the month or anything… but I didn’t wear much makeup this month! SO! Took me a while to test everything, and a little longer to drag my butt into doing reviews.

About Ipsy: Ipsy is the $10/month beauty subscription bag known for being more ‘makeup’ based. They ship you 4-6 deluxe to full size samples every month, inside a cute or chic makeup bag, all wrapped up in a bright pink bubble-wrap envelope. Samples are somewhat customized to your beauty profile, and come from a variety of well known to indie brands, ranging from high end to drugstore prices. You can earn ~85 points each month for reviewing your products and bag, and sharing those reviews on Facebook or Twitter. These points can then be redeemed for specific point rewards (samples/cosmetics) varying in value.

Initial Impressions: This was a pretty good month for me. Though I got the pink bag, and would have preferred blue or purple just because I’m not a super ‘pink’ girl, but it’s really cute even in the pink! Every product is something I’ll use. That’s pretty good for Ipsy!

What’s In The Box?

Ipsy May 2016

Smashbox X-Rated Mascara
SAMPLE = 0.10 oz mini/sample tube
This? Applies gorgeously. I couldn’t stand waiting to open it, even though I need to use up a few others and one is in a Project Pan. There’s just one gawdawful aspect… the smell. This makes my eyes water. I actually contacted Ipsy support about this and they did say that it’s not expired and it’s definitely safe and they’re apparently sending me a little something to make up for it? I can see tracking in the mail but I have no idea what it is, so! We’ll have a little update with that when it comes! But the tech in this makes my nerdy side drool for my makeup side’s benefit. There’s tripod fibers that will layer up and attach to your lashes so the more you apply, the longer they get! This also lasted through several emotional breakdowns and crying fits that I can’t justify.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $7.33
My Value: $5.50
Will I buy it? I’m honestly not sure. I really love it, I’m finding a ton more mascaras I love than I thought I would.
Full Size Price: $22.00

Ipsy May 2016 Pacifica Coconut Trio

Pacifica Swatches (blended together – clear swatches included below)

Pacifica Natural Mineral Coconut Eye Shadow Trio
SAMPLE = 0.7 oz
These are pretty nice buttery shades. Another relatively neutral trio from Ipsy, but I do like testing eyeshadow brands and seeing if there’s a quality difference, plus then when I’m a klutz and break some, I have backups! The shades are very creamy in a cream to powder finish and are made with natural minerals. Gluten-free, cruelty-free, and vegan.
Rating: 4.5/5
Sample Value: $6.99?
My Value: $4.50
Will I buy it? I have a lot of eyeshadows and several palettes on my list.
Full Size Price: $9.99

BellaPierre Waterproof Gel Lip Liner Pencil in Nude
FULL SIZE
This is a relatively pretty color and I’ve used it as an allover lip color and it deepens and mutes down bolder colors to make them more wearable. I enjoy the formula, I’m just not super big on liners or anything that needs to be sharpened.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $18.00
My Value: $2.50
Will I buy it? I don’t like pencils you have to sharpen.
Full Size Price: $18.00

FORMULA 10.0.6 Pores Be Pure Skin-Clarifying Mud Mask
SAMPLE = 1 oz tube
I’m so torn between 4.5 and 5 stars with this mask. This smells unbelievable. Fruity and soft and girly and fresh. I don’t actually know if it clarified my skin a ton, because I use blackhead removing masks pretty regularly, but my skin did feel gorgeous after this, and even when I applied this to super sensitive basically raw skin, it didn’t sting or burn (I did really stupid crap to my skin this week, let’s leave it at that). It’s tinged pink or almost lavender and feels refreshingly tight but not crackly when dried down and I never felt dried out after. Plus? It’s one of the most affordable mud masks I’ve tried.
Rating: 4.5/5
Sample Value: $2.05
My Value: $4.50
Will I buy it? x
Full Size Price: $6.99

Ipsy May 2016 Peek ABNY BellaPierre

Peek Beauty nom nom natural lip plumping balm in Miracle
SAMPLE = 1 oz tube
This smells and tastes like cinnamon. And can you say nom nom without giggling? I actually can’t. I didn’t notice any stinging or weird sensations when applied to my arm or my lips. I’m not a super big fan of the packaging because it’s little and flat and feels middle-school-ish to me, but I have reached for it a few times without totally forcing myself. I don’t feel like it stays on very long if you’re doing anything other than sitting still, and I noticed a dip in the ‘pan’ almost immediately when I started using it, though that’s sort of just how it’s made, but it feels like it’s going faster when it dips so easily. I didn’t pay attention to notice if my lips looked ‘plump-er’ or not.
Rating: 3.5/5
Sample Value: $22.00
My Value: $1.99
Will I buy it? It’s more of a novelty to me, personally.
Full Size Price: $22.00

Ipsy May 2016 Swatches

Left to Right: Pacifica Trio, ABNY Terracotta, BellaPierre Nude, PEEK Nom Nom Miracle

BONUS ITEMS; AKA: Ipsy Point Freebies

I’m never sure how to count these in value, but I’m trying a few ways to see what makes sense in the moment and looking back to compare. I want to make it clear when things aren’t part of the for-sure package you’ll get, but these are counted in my assessment because getting the points is part of the value to me in the overall subscription. (And part of the reason I’m able to get these cool freebies is because you girls have used my code and given me some bonus points, so thanks! 🙂 )

AMIE Naturally Morning Clear Purifying Face Wash
SAMPLE = 0.3 oz tube
I haven’t tried this yet, but it smells really nice. I might bring it with on my upcoming trip since it’s cute and travel sized. It might not be ‘worth’ as much with 100 points redeemed for something worth less than $0.50, but I wanted to try it and its cheaper than trying it full sized.
Rating: TBD
Sample Value: $0.46
My Value: $1.00
Will I buy it? TBD
Full Size Price: $7.15

ABNY VELVET LIPPIE in TERRACOTTA
FULL SIZE
This is actually a pretty gorgeous warm muted orange/peach. It smells delicious like freshed baked goods with vanilla, and it applies cleanly. It’s a pretty thick formula and about average for wear time. It doesn’t dry down entirely which means it doesn’t crack, but will also wear off easier than a liquid lippie. This looks a lot more red in photos, but in person pulls much more nudey-orange, not necessarily in a bad way.
Rating: ~3.5/5
Sample Value: $5.99
My Value: $2.49
Will I buy it? I’m unsure. I’d need to test it more.
Full Size Price: $5.99

Box Summary

Ipsy May 2016

Box Cost: $10.00
Box Rating: 4.1 out of 5 stars
Full Size Products: 2   Deluxe Samples: 3   Foils: 0
Total Sample Value: $56.37 ($6.45 bonus item retail value)
Total Personal Value: $18.99
+ Added Value: $3.49 bonus item personal value + whatever they sent me??
= Total Box Value = $22.48
Opinion: Ipsy has done a lot better for me lately. The only real downside is that their eyeshadows are usually neutral browns, and that it’s harder to use up their products due to the larger shadow size and product types that last longer in a collection, so you can start to feel a little cluttered. BUT, I’ve been able to ‘sell’ some of the items that I’ve tried and not loved as much as others and recoup some of my value too while keeping my collection more varied and letting someone who will love the product get their use out of it instead.

Sign-up for your first Ipsy Glambag, or check out my other Ipsy bag reviews!

Hey! Let’s connect!
Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest
also feel free to add me on Facebook as a friend 🙂

One thought on “Ipsy Unbagging! {May 2016}

  1. I got that mask as well! I already had a full size in Bergamot and Orange,I believe, that I love so it was fun to try another. I had actually gotten the first one at Old Navy of all places. It was on clearance bc ours was remodeling and they were getting rid of some stock. They have both worked pretty well for me 🙂

    Like

Hey girl!

