Boxes

Lip Monthly Unbagging {April 2016}

About Lip Monthly: Lip Monthly is a $12.95/month subscription bag focusing on lip products. Each month you will receive 3-4 lip products, as well as a non-lip product, in deluxe samples or full size products with a guaranteed value of $35-$55 in each bag. The products are mailed in an envelope, and are packed into a Lip Monthly mini/travel makeup bag. They ship later in the month and have a variety of boutique to drugstore brands. If you’re a lippie lover, you can try them out here for just 50% off by using the code 50OFF. (You can also try LIPLOVER for the 1st bag for $5.00, it’s active on and off)

Initial Impressions: So I saw some weird stuff going around this month… a lot of new subscribers got… March’s bag… with a combination of February and April’s products? Whut? And I just checked Instagram and somebody got February’s bag design instead too?!?! What the hell is going on over there, LipMonthly? Can’t just offer a mystery bag with the extra products and bags?? This is just dumb, you’re gonna end up screwing up and giving someone a double. But when I got my bag, it’s totally different from theirs.

What’s In The Box?

IMG_20160419_204831816-01

Starlooks Gloss in Cuddle
“Perfect Size” = 0.3 oz
I had to try this because I like the cute little packaging and it’s a size I can actually use up of a gloss. It’ll be the 2nd gloss I’m keeping and it’s very sleek looking. It’s a little sticky if it touches anything but your lips, but lip on lip action feels just… glossy.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $9.00
My Value: $2.00
Will I buy it? Probably not, I just don’t do glosses enough to buy them.
Full Size Price: $9.00

IMG_20160418_205437537

Glamour Dolls Gloss Snob in Watermelon
FULL SIZE
My experience with Glamour Dolls and their exhaustingly childish glitter eyeliner means I’m not even unsealing this. It’s leaving brand new and unswatched. It’s also just kinda dumb to send two glosses in my opinion. Like come on. There’s so many lip product options and you’re sending TWO glosses? It claims to be a liquid lipstick type… I dunno. Maybe someone else will like it.
Rating: N/A
Sample Value: $1.99
My Value: $1.99
Will I buy it? Absolutely not.
Full Size Price: $1.99

Hikari Lipstick in Peony
FULL SIZE
Not pigmented unless you severely layer… and it’s hot pink. No. Hi my name is NOT BARBIE. Ugh this is like my first Ipsy bag all over again.
Rating: 2/5
Sample Value: $13.00
My Value: $1.99
Will I buy it? No. Just no.
Full Size Price: $13.00

Pencil Me In Eyeliner in ??
FULL SIZE
I’m also not going to be opening this. For my colored liners I have Marcelle and I have them in multiple colors that I need, I don’t want to put something with raw wood near my eye if I don’t have to because I’ve just had bad experiences being a klutz and a half.
Rating: N/A
Sample Value: $6.99
My Value: $1.29
Will I buy it? No.
Full Size Price: $6.99

Bag Summary

IMG_20160419_204831816-01

Box Cost: $12.95 (I paid $9.73 using the 1STFREE code with a 4 month subscription)
Box Rating: 2/5
Full Size Products: 3  Deluxe Samples: 1  Foils: 0
Total Sample Value: $30.98
Total Personal Value: $7.27
+ Added Value: $1.99 bag
= Total Box Value = $9.26
Opinion: Bag #3 and this subscription is DEFINITELY not for me. It might be great for other people, but I’ve had I believe… 3 items that I’ve kept from it? And I haven’t used those since unboxing them? If you are a lip junkie, this bag might be perfect for you. However if I’m going to wear lipstick, I want it to last through the apocalypse and still look on point as fuck. The variety in this doesn’t work for me and I feel like for my tastes it’s better to invest my money in individual products or other boxes. There is nothing wrong with the service or products, except it’s just not something that fits my preferences.

I am now cancelled, and will still receive my final month of my subscription in May, after I receive that bag I will post a ‘final thoughts on Lip Monthly’ review of my experience with the subscription and products overall. I will continue this practice with any subscription that I get multiple months of but choose not to continue with.

Hey! Let’s connect!
Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest
also feel free to add me on Facebook as a friend 🙂

3 thoughts on “Lip Monthly Unbagging {April 2016}

Hey girl!

