Boxes

Ipsy Unbagging {April 2016}

About Ipsy: Ipsy is the $10/month beauty subscription bag known for being more ‘makeup’ based. They ship you 4-6 deluxe to full size samples every month, inside a cute or chic makeup bag, all wrapped up in a bright pink bubble-wrap envelope. Samples are somewhat customized to your beauty profile, and come from a variety of well known to indie brands, ranging from high end to drugstore prices. You can earn ~100 points each month for reviewing your products and bag, and sharing those reviews on Facebook or Twitter. These points can then be redeemed for specific point rewards (samples/cosmetics) varying in value.

What’s In The Box?

wp-1461644054136.jpg

L.A.B.2 Live and Breathe Beauty Just Blending In Brush
TOOL
This is the fluffiest blending brush I’ve ever tried, and it’s actually really nice for blending up the crease, though it would be awful for targeted areas due to the size. The brush seems to be made of very good quality and it’s probably the sturdiest brush in my collection. It’s even affordable, I would love to receive more L.A.B.2 brushes.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $6.99
My Value: $3.50
Will I buy it? I will look into more from this brand.
Full Size Price: $6.99

Harvey Prince Organics Keravegan Hair Masque
SAMPLE = 1 oz tube
I have not tried this yet because I’m doing a hair trial of some new products and don’t want to interfere in that review. I’ve had one Harvey Prince product I’ve liked, and a LOT I haven’t liked, so we’ll see how this fares as well as scent sometime.
Rating: TBD
Sample Value: $3.00
My Value: $1.99
Will I buy it? TBD.
Full Size Price: $24.00

wp-1461644048707.jpg

tarte LipSurgence in Wonder & OFRA eyeshadow in Bohemian

tarte cosmetics LipSurgence lip creme in Wonder
SAMPLE = 0.05 oz stick
I’m actually surprisingly happy with this sample. It’s the perfect size for me at half the full size to test and use plenty of times without wasting a lot of excess product. It smells minty and goes on smooth and quite pigmented, though looks a little more sheer in photos. It’s got a slight shimmer that fades down to more of a stain as it wears, and it does tend to fad pretty evenly.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $12.00
My Value: $2.99
Will I buy it? I think it’s worth a buy, I’d look for it on sale.
Full Size Price: $24.00

OFRA Cosmetics Eyeshadow in Bohemian
FULL SIZE: REFILL PAN
This is a very shimmery and pigmented eyeliner, it’s a little awkward to blend because it feels like it looses it’s shimmer, but I think it’ll be a great outer corner and crease shade, as well as a smudged lashline look for a soft but dramatic eye.
Rating: 
4/5
Sample Value:
$12.00
My Value:
$3.39
Will I buy it?
 I’d definitely look for more OFRA shadows.
Full Size Price:
$12.00

Probelle Nail Lacquer in In or Out
FULL SIZE
I’m really not super big on nail polish, but this is a pretty springtime color and it applies very well. I had one coat opaqueness over my base, and two just to be safe. I had very little issues with chipping when using a base/top coat combo, but once it chipped it tended to come off most of the nail all at once.
Rating: 4.5/5
Sample Value: $6.00
My Value: $2.99
Will I buy it? I would reach for this brand again.
Full Size Price: $6.00

and my bonus item! (included in additional value)

BeFine Exfoliating Cleanser (with Brown Sugar)
FULL SIZE
I’ve just barely gotten to try this due to my panning projects, but the scent is very almondy with more of just an undertone of the brown sugar. It makes my skin feel smooth and supple, but might be more of a morning cleanser than an evening makeup remover/cleanser combo in my lazy-girl lifestyle.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $6.00
My Value: $2.29
Will I buy it? I probably won’t repurchase, but I’m enjoying my sample.
Full Size Price: $24.00

Box Summary

wp-1461644054136.jpg

Box Cost: $10.00
Box Rating: 4
Full Size Products: 3   Deluxe Samples: 2   Foils: 0
Total Sample Value: $39.99
Total Personal Value: $14.86
+ Added Value: $2.29 Exfoliating Cleanser Sample (250 points)
= Total Box Value: $17.15
Opinion: I wasn’t particularly excited about these previews… but with more use this month I’m actually pretty impressed and I think this box is highly functional. I am starting to love Ipsy’s reward system, though I still don’t think it’s as good as Birchbox’s, but I’m able to get additional samples of my choice 3 months in a row now (2 coming next month) and that’s pretty neat.

Sign-up for your first Ipsy Glambag, or check out my other Ipsy bag reviews!

Hey! Let’s connect!
Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest
also feel free to add me on Facebook as a friend 🙂

8 thoughts on “Ipsy Unbagging {April 2016}

  1. You got a pretty good box! I love that you assign your own personal value. I find myself doing that mentally. I rarely pay retail for anything, so I always ask “What price would I pay for this?” Nice blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you like it! I know I’m a cheapskate so I didn’t feel like I could review and only go off the retail price, plus it says a Lot for me when I can say I’d actually pay retail! It’s always like ‘umm… $50? You’re joking right?’

      Like

Hey girl!

