Boxes

Birchbox Spring Awakening {April 2016}

About Birchbox: Birchbox is a $10/month subscription box filled with 4-6 beauty samples every month, delivered to your door in an adorable and reusable box. You will primarily receive deluxe samples with a few full size products every month or two. Samples are moderately tailored to your beauty profile, and you can earn back $6.00 of your subscription cost in store credit every month by sharing your bag to social media (Facebook or Twitter) through the Birchbox website or app, and reviewing your items on the site.

Birchbox is currently unique in having the option each month to choose 1 of your samples from a selection, choose the curated box, OR leave your box random. This is a random box.

What’s In The Box?

IMG_20160409_114545428

Acure Organics Lip Lush in Birthday Suit
FULL SIZE
I’m not much of a gloss person, and I already have 2 other glosses that I’m keeping. I have not unsealed this and will be passing it on – but it’s known for being a light gloss with essentially no pigment, to just bring out the color of your natural lip – hence the name of ‘birthday suit’.
Rating: N/A
Sample Value: $5.99
My Value: $2.79
Will I buy it? No.
Full Size Price: $5.99

Juliette Has a Gun – Anyway
SAMPLE = 0.05 oz bottle
Someone described it as bottled nonchalance… and basically? That’s accurate. It’s a little woodsy, pretty unisex, and just feels like the days you don’t want to seem like you care, but you do. I’m enjoying the small sample of this, but it’s not something I’d buy because I’m just not a unisex kinda girl.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $2.95
My Value: $1.00
Will I buy it? No.
Full Size Price: $100.00

Vasanti BrightenUp! Enzymatic Face Rejuvination [Scrub]
SAMPLE = 0.7 oz tube
This? feels amazing. Scrub gently once and two weeks later your skin feels just as fresh as if you just washed it off. It wasn’t too rough, but seemed to get all of the dead or rough skin off, and it felt like my pores looked the tiniest bit smaller right after. The only downside to this sample is the tube size is completely off from how much is included – it’s really about 1/3rd full, but accurate to the amount listed as included. But this feels like I imagine getting a facial is like. Soothing, fresh, relaxing.
Rating: 5/5
Sample Value: $5.62
My Value: $3.95
Will I buy it? I’m unsure if I can justify the price for my lifestyle.
Full Size Price: $34.00

Supergoop! Daily Correct CC Cream SPF in Light
SAMPLE = 0.101 oz tube
I very rarely expect things to be light enough for my skintone, but this really was. It’s a little yellow, but that’s to be expected in a CC cream for the most part since yellow corrects undereye circles and everything else. I do prefer a fuller coverage and it’s a little weird to see myself without it, but I look forward to using this more when my breakouts are cleared up. This is my second Supergoop! product and I’ve enjoyed both.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $2.00
My Value: $1.49
Will I buy it? No.
Full Size Price: $32.00

Davines Ol / All In One Milk
SAMPLE = 1.69 oz bottle
There’s just something about this scent… like boozey tea with cream. It’s completely of for me – though when it  dries down the scent is a lot more light and herbal and very tolerable. It’s unfortunate that I don’t like the scent because otherwise it’s very soothing on the hair and tames flyaways without weighing it down. If you like more herbal scents I think this would appeal to you more. It’s not like a sour bad scent, just a very different one.
Rating: 2/5
Sample Value: $11.10
My Value: $2.89
Will I buy it? No.
Full Size Price: $30.00

Davines Ol / Shampoo
SAMPLE = 0.4 oz packet
After my experience with the hair milk, I’m passing these off as a set.
Rating: N/A
Sample Value: $1.18
My Value: $0.50
Will I buy it? No.
Full Size Price: $28.00

Davines Ol / Conditioner
SAMPLE = 0.4 oz packet
Passed on unopened in the set.
Rating: N/A
Sample Value: $1.54
My Value: $0.50
Will I buy it? No.
Full Size Price: $34.00

Box Summary

IMG_20160409_111411470

Box Cost: $10.00
Box Rating: 3.75
Full Size Products: 1   Deluxe Samples: 4   Foils: 2
Total Sample Value: $30.38
Total Personal Value: $13.12
+ Added Value: $7.00 (70 points)
= Total Box Value = $20.12
Opinion: There’s nothing I’ll likely end up repurchasing from this box, but can you even complain about a 7 item box? I enjoyed the perfume and except for my one hair sample and two bonus samples, I am happy with everything in it. I would have kept the gloss if I didn’t already have two open that are smaller sizes I can use up.

Sign-up for Birchbox, or see more of my Birchbox reviews!

Hey! Let’s connect!
Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest
also feel free to add me on Facebook as a friend 🙂

3 thoughts on “Birchbox Spring Awakening {April 2016}

  1. I also received the three Davines hair product samples and decided to try them all at once. The smell was so strong that I couldn’t focus on whether or not they performed well.

    Liked by 1 person

Hey girl!

