Boxes

Birchbox Effortlessly Elegant {April 2016} + May Spoilers

IMG_20160411_125511841

About Birchbox: Birchbox is a $10/month subscription box filled with 4-6 beauty & cosmetics samples every month, delivered to your door in an adorable and reusable box. You will primarily receive deluxe samples with a few full size products every month or two. Your samples are moderately tailored to your beauty profile, and you can earn back $6.00 of your subscription cost in store credit every month by sharing your bag to social media (Facebook or Twitter) through the Birchbox website or app, and reviewing your items on the site.

Birchbox is currently unique in having the option each month to choose 1 of your samples from a selection, choose the curated box, OR leave your box random.

This is the April 2016 curated box. The theme is Effortlessly Elegant.

What’s In The Box?

IMG_20160411_130324058

Marcelle 3-in-1 Micellar Solution
SAMPLE = 1.7 oz bottle
I’ve only tried this a few times as I’ve been finishing up other cleansers. But from what I’ve used of it, it’s good at cleaning off makeup without scrubbing, and it doesn’t leave the skin feeling oily, dry, or tight. It’s a nice product but so far it hasn’t overly impressed me.
Rating: 3/5
Sample Value: $3.57
My Value: $2.50
Will I buy it? Not when there are drugstore options.
Full Size Price: $21.00

PARLOR by Jeff Chastain
SAMPLE = 1 oz bottle
I honestly haven’t opened this even once. I have another PARLOR product and while it’s nice.. it’s not what I reach for, and I have plenty of hair care.
Rating: N/A
Sample Value: $4.89
My Value: $1.99
Will I buy it? No
Full Size Price: $24.00

Dr. Jart+ Liftra Contour Cream
SAMPLE = 0.16 oz tube
This is such a strange little product. It’s a ‘contour’ cream, but the claims are to plump up skin? I’ve tried it once to test the consistency and it’s a nice thickness and absorbs quickly and evenly into the skin. My skin felt pleasant, but there was no noticeable difference (not that it claimed there would be in one use). I do not belive I’ve used this enough to provide a rating.
Rating: TBD
Sample Value: $5.68
My Value: $2.29
Will I buy it? No. Way expensive.
Full Size Price: $60.00

TOCCA Crema de Mano  in Giulietta
SAMPLE = 1 oz tube
Oh my gosh yum. I don’t often like hand creams but this is the first one I’ve gotten meant as a hand cream that I really just love the scent of. It’s kind of a tea and apple scent which is perfect for me and sounds like an amazing breakfast too. I’ve been keeping this on my vanity to remind me to use it after I put makeup on every day. It’s not Quite ‘HG’ status for me, but it’s up there.
Rating: 4.5/5
Sample Value: $5.00
My Value: $2.79
Will I buy it? Unsure, because multi-purpose lotions could keep me from needing a specific one.
Full Size Price: $10.00

Laura Geller New York Baked Blush-n-Brighten in Pink Grapefruit
MINI = 0.06 oz blush
I didn’t expect to like it. I expected to pass it on.. and then I couldn’t resist swatching… and now it’s staying. And from the questions on the Birchbox feedback form… is it meant to be water resistant too? That’s pretty badass. It’s this gorgeous corally shade that I keep hearing is meant for darker skintones but um… coral looks fabulous on my newly pressed parchment complexion. I fully expect to use this until I hit pan, especially because it can function as a highlighter as well with that natural shimmer.
Rating: 5/5
Sample Value: $9.54
My Value: $3.39
Will I buy it? Unsure if I’ll need to purchase a blush due to the amount I receive from boxes; but I recommend this one if you like a light shimmery blush with high blendability.
Full Size Price: $28.00

Box Summary

IMG_20160411_125511841

Box Cost: $10.00 (I paid $7.33 on a deal)
Box Rating: 4/5
Full Size Products: x Deluxe Samples: x Foils: x
Total Sample Value: $28.68
Total Personal Value: $12.96
+ Added Value: 50 points = $5.00 for reviews.
= Total Box Value = $17.96
Opinion: I’m happy with my decision to get this box. The items in it are above the purchase price of the box, let alone my sale price, and getting back half the subscription price in points helps me to get more products that I love.

Sign-up for Birchbox, or see more of my Birchbox reviews!

Now for the May spoilers…

21

COOLA Classic Sport Face SPF 50 White Tea Moisturizer

I’ve tried an SPF moisturizer from COOLA and I really loved it. I actually JUST finished it as part of one of my pan it projects, and I’m almost tempted to get another, but I’m not sure yet. I kinda want to try something new.

13

Supergoop! Sun Defying Sunscreen Oil with Meadowfoam

This is another sample that tempts me, because Supergoop! has done a great job on the products I’ve received from them so far and I adore getting sunscreen items since my skin has an aversion to the sun.

4

Vita Liberata Fabulous Self Tanning Gradual Lotion

Hahahahahhaha no. Not for me at least. I don’t want to tan naturally or artificially. Great if you want to. I have no experience with the brand.

3

Real Chemistry Luminous 3-Minute Peel for Body

THIS. Is happening. Partially because the boyfriend picked it. The few reviews Birchbox has of this item say it makes pores disappear and that you’ll see the dead skin sloughing away. The only downside is we obviously won’t be getting enough to do the body one time through, so I’m going to do legs evenly as far up as I can and see from there. If we even get that much?

Then of course, you could leave your box random if none of these appeal to you, and you still MIGHT get one or more of them, or none. OR you can do:

The Curated Box:

The curated box this month will include:

5

CLEAN Blossom Eau de Parfum

Davines LOVE Smoothing Shampoo (+ bonus conditioner foil)

COOLA SPF 30 Organic Makeup Setting Spray

ModelCo Lip Laquer in Creme Brulee

Benefit Hoola Matte Bronzer

There’s a few things in this that appeal to me, but I don’t think I’ll be snagging the curated box this time around. What about you? What are you getting this month? Not a subscriber? If you sign-up before the 28th, you will get April’s box, and have your May sample selection on the 28th! 🙂 You can join now through my link.

Hey! Let’s connect!
Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest
also feel free to add me on Facebook as a friend 🙂

3 thoughts on “Birchbox Effortlessly Elegant {April 2016} + May Spoilers

Hey girl!

