Boxes

Walmart Beauty Box {Spring 2016}

About Walmart Beauty Box: Walmart has a quarterly ‘free’ beauty box, just pay shipping, so really we’re talking a $5.00 box here. It comes out every 3 months in batches, and there’s the Trendsetter, and Classic box types geared towards younger or older audiences. They are curated boxes with slight variation, so you may see people with more or less samples than you in any given period. It is a subscription and if you are signed up at the next billing period, they will charge you and send you your box after a reminder email.

Initial Impressions: I wasn’t quite sure what I’d receive in this box as it does seem to vary so widely in what’s included from person to person, while others remain the EXACT same, I’m pretty pleased with what I got and I don’t regret getting this box of little essentials. I mean the toothpaste is something everyone buys eventually anyway, and I didn’t have to go make a decision, and that makes up most of the box price.

What’s In The Box?

 

IMG_20160415_103853231-01

Aveeno Skin Relief Gentle Scent Body Wash in Nourishing Coconut
SAMPLE = 1 oz bottle
I haven’t and won’t be trying this, because it’s yet another coconut scent. I get enough body wash that I don’t need to use up samples that I won’t enjoy, so I’ll be passing this on.
Rating: N/A
Sample Value: $0.53
My Value: $0.50
Will I buy it? Not in coconut
Full Size Price: $6.47

CeraVe Healing Ointment
SAMPLE = 0.085 oz tub
This is a nice little vaseline/anti-bacteria type ointment that I like using on my nail beds or on healing blemishes. I don’t mind having 2 of these from my drugstore boxes.
*note, this value differs from Target’s because Walmart advertises a size I would repurchase in, rather than a giant tub.
Rating: 3.5/5
Sample Value: $0.95
My Value: $0.50
Will I buy it? Unsure.
Full Size Price: $3.92

wp-1461086674831.jpg

 

Colgate Optic White Platinum High Impact White (Toothpaste)
FULL SIZE
I’m actually pretty excited for this and I’ve been using it a few days already and already seen significant whitening in the borders of my teeth, and minor whitening on all the surface of my teeth. I have been a Colgate fan but this formula is definitely worth a try. It’s a little foamy for my tastes, but maybe that’s what makes it work great. I took before pictures and will be following up with a review after a few weeks of use. Plus I mean… who doesn’t want whiter teeth?
Rating: 4.5/5
Sample Value: $3.99
My Value: $3.99
Will I buy it? Yes
Full Size Price: $3.99

Burt’s Bees BB Cream in Light/Medium
SAMPLE = 0.03 oz packet
I haven’t tried this yet and I’m not sure if I will or if I’ll pass it on. I know it’ll be the wrong color for me but it might not help anyone else to try a one use sample either.
Rating: TBD
Sample Value: $0.23
My Value: $0.25
Will I buy it? Unsure.
Full Size Price: $13.53

St. Ives Fresh Skin Apricot Scrub
SAMPLE = 1 oz tube
I believe this is an OK scrub for the price. I recently got several scrubs that I’m liking a lot more, but I think i will use this on my body where I have pore issues, rather than on my face where I have preferences.
Rating: 3/5
Sample Value: $0.67
My Value: $1.00
Will I buy it? No. There are other scrubs that impress more.
Full Size Price: $4.06

John Frieda brilliant BRUNETTE Subtle Lightening Shampoo
SAMPLE = 2 oz tube
I’m almost tempted to try this even with red hair, but I’m going to pass it on to someone that Does have brown hair so they can use it to it’s fullest extent. I prefer the red tones to the brown ones in my hair, but I’ve always wanted to try the redhead formula of John Frieda’s. Anyone know if they still sell them? I can’t ever find those.
Rating: N/A
Sample Value: $2.16
My Value: $1.99
Will I buy it? Not in brunette.
Full Size Price: $8.97

Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleansing Cloths
TRAVEL SIZE – 10 ct
I haven’t opened these yet because I’ll be using them on an upcoming trip, but it’s a nice thing to include in any box in my opinion. They’re always something I’ll use up.
Rating: TBD
Sample Value: $4.99
My Value: $2.79
Will I buy it? I have others that I like, these will have to really impress me before I’d pay more for a package design I don’t like.
Full Size Price: $4.99

Box Summary

wp-1461086670257.jpg

Box Cost: $5.00 shipping fee
Box Rating: 3.5
Full Size Products: 2  Deluxe Samples: 4  Foils: 1
Total Sample Value: $13.52
Total Personal Value: $11.02
+ Added Value: coupons only
= Total Box Value = $11.02
Opinion: I think Walmart is a good box to get if you just want a little something extra as a seasonal perk. It doesn’t cost enough to be a significant loss, and you have the chance of getting something that you love that’s also affordable.

Hey! Let’s connect!
Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest
also feel free to add me on Facebook as a friend 🙂

4 thoughts on “Walmart Beauty Box {Spring 2016}

Hey girl!

