Boxes

Target Beauty Box {April 2016}

About the Target Beauty Box: If you haven’t heard about Target’s near infamous Beauty Box, this is the fast-selling customer favorite that beauty buffs across the country vie for the second it hops on the market, following some blogs and Instagram’s specifically to get notifications about when this hits the virtual shelves. It becomes available around the 1st of the month, give or take a few days, and it’s known for selling out, and typically sells for around $5-$12 a month. Each box has a different theme, and what makes this box a little more unique is you see everything in the curated box before you order it. It’s also a one time purchase, not a subscription, so you can pick and choose… and battle it out to make it to the checkout cart in time before your fellow beauty lovers.

Check for availability here, or see my past boxes.

Initial Impressions: I really like this box. It’s not super valuable, and actually I don’t agree with the value they claim to have in the box, but it’s worth above what was paid and is stuff that I’ll use and enjoy. Scout was more interested in seeing if there was anything he could eat from it. But he didn’t ‘actually’ eat anything, so we’re good.

img_20160413_105131.jpg

What’s In The Box?

img_20160413_122509139.jpg

Laneige Water Bank Soothing Mask
SAMPLE = 1 mask
This was a different experience from other sheet masks since it’s a two piece. It was nice and moisturizing, but a little difficult to apply and once it started absorbing, if you’re sitting up it won’t stay adhered to your face very well. It was a nice experience but I wouldn’t buy one.
Rating: 3.5/5
Sample Value: $4.80
My Value: $1.29
Will I buy it? No. It did not impress me.
Full Size Price: $24.00 for 5

Pantene Pro-V AIRspray Hair Spray
SAMPLE = 2 oz can
I’ve received this sample in an old box and I know that I don’t like using ANY hairspray. I’ll be holding this to pass off to family as I know someone that will actually enjoy it.
Rating: N/A
Sample Value: $0.71
My Value: $0.00
Will I buy it? No. I’m not a hairspray person.
Full Size Price: $4.99 for 7 oz

wp-1461036506892.jpg

CoverGirl Colorlicious Lipstick in Tantalize
FULL SIZE
This is actually a really pretty almost pinky purple. I didn’t have anything in this shade and brightness so I will be keeping it, although one of the things I love about the Target boxes is that you can exchange the items in store for another color. I haven’t done any thorough longevity tests yet so we’ll see how it holds up long term, though it’s definitely NOT transfer proof, so I don’t expect big staying power.
Rating: 3/5
Sample Value: $5.99
My Value: $2.99
Will I buy it? It’s not a brand I’d avoid, but I’m not greatly impressed either.
Full Size Price: $5.99

Hawaiian Tropic Island Sport SPF 30 Lotion
SAMPLE = 2 oz bottle
Where have these sunscreens that don’t smell like sunscreen been all my life? I’m a ginger, I need this! Actually my family lives on a river so we tend to head down and swim or just hang out with the dogs and this is the perfect size to bring along and perfect strength to just be out an hour or two for me. Beyond that I’d need a stronger sunscreen, but this is a good selection and I really love when boxes include a sunscreen because so many people under use them. I have an open sunscreen so I have not tested this particular one for greasiness, but I’ve never had trouble with that in Hawaiian Tropic sunscreens.
Rating: 4.5/5
Sample Value: $1.99
My Value: $1.49
Will I buy it? I will purchase more sunscreen from Hawaiian Tropic!
Full Size Price: $7.99 for 8 oz

Marlowe No. 022 Body Butter
SAMPLE = 1 oz tube
I received a body lotion from Marlowe in the past and passed it on, I actually prefer the body butter quite a bit! It’s significantly more supple and moisturizing. I’ve got a lot of lotions so I’ll be passing this on. The scent is very neutral and very unobtrusive which makes it perfect for workday wear.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $1.24
My Value: $1.24
Will I buy it? I’d recommend it for someone wanting a neutral lotion, but I would not purchase it for myself.
Full Size Price: $9.99 for 8 oz

Simple Cleansing Facial Wipes
SAMPLE = 7 pk
This is a nice little set of makeup remover wipes. I do like using them and I keep them by my bed o that I never have an excuse not to take my makeup off no matter how tired I am. It’s also great for quickly cleaning off your skin of at least the base makeup to let your skin breathe when you end up just in bed or on the couch lounging around. I can never have enough makeup wipes because the more I have around the more likely I am to use them. I’ve tried the Simple brand before of makeup remover wipes and so I’ll be leaving these closed for an upcoming trip in a few months since it’s the perfect amount of wipes for a few days without packing a true cleanser.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $1.00
My Value: $2.49
Will I buy it? These are a cheap brand that works and I’ll consider them when buying.
Full Size Price: $3.59 for 25 ct.

img_20160413_112009220.jpg

CeraVe Healing Ointment
SAMPLE = 0.085 oz jar
This is a pretty average ointment from my use so far. I’ve been using it on my nail beds for 3 days and while they’ve gotten a tad bit softer on the worst areas, overall there’s not an amazing or impressive improvement. I will continue to use it as an emergency balm and to treat small blemishes/scabs along with my cuticles, so I don’t even mind that I got a repeat of this in my Walmart box today.
Rating: 3.5/5
Sample Value: $0.15
My Value: $0.49
Will I buy it? Not unless I see more drastic improvement long term.
Full Size Price: $21.99

wp-1461036502324.jpg

Maybelline Dream Velvet in Classic Ivory
SAMPLE = (~0.05 oz) foil
This… is pretty badass. It’s not my color, but the coverage was so smooth and even and it DIDN’T BUDGE. I had enough in the sample packet to do all the way from my fingers up to my elbow and it was still there and even about 8 hours later. I will probably be purchasing this as my next foundation, because it comes in Porcelain Ivory too which MIGHT be light enough for my ghost white  complexion.
Rating: 4.5/5
Sample Value: $0.44
My Value: $0.50
Will I buy it? Highly likely.
Full Size Price: $8.99

Box Summary

Box Cost: $7.00
Box Rating: 3.5
Full Size Products: 1   Deluxe Samples: 5   Foils: 2
Total Sample Value: $16.32
Total Personal Value: $10.48
+ Added Value: coupons I won’t use
= Total Box Value = $10.48
Opinion: I’m really not sure how they got the $26 value. Maybe it was a typo and they meant $16? I know a lot of people are upset about this. I don’t think it justifiable to be upset about the small sample sizes, since it’s advertised what you get and since a jar might be halfway full, but it’s only branded as 0.085 oz so how full did you expect it to be? I’m content with what I received.

One thought on “Target Beauty Box {April 2016}

Hey girl!

