Updates

What I Wore This Week | Palette A Week Intro

I’ve decided to start doing a WIWTW, aka What I Wore This Week, review every Wednesday. It’s going to coincide with my One Palette, One Week challenge.

One Palette, One Week:

Each Wednesday, I will pick out one of my palettes to use for the week to create different looks every day until the next Wednesday. That day will actually be a toss-up day where I can use either palette depending on how often I wore makeup and what it feels like being that day. Since I could never remember whether I was starting Weds or Thurs, and since some days I won’t wear makeup at all.

I’ll include a couple details of the products more ‘featured’ or different in each look for anyone interested :).

img_20160404_154125966-01-01.jpeg

This week since I got my BeautyCon with The Rock Nudes (Maybelline NY) palette, I decided to use that for my first week. It’s a short week since I didn’t get it until Saturday. The palette sells for $9.99 in most stores, or for ~$8 on Amazon.

What I Wore This Week:

#100DaysOfMakeup: Day 1

Day 01 3-30-16 red

This was an r/MakeupRehab theme of Red.
NYX Liquid Suede in Kitten Heels, and Benefit They’re Real! Tinted Primer.

#100DaysOfMakeup: Day 2

Day 02 4-01-16 pop of teal

a pop of teal
(and my first time EVER doing my brows, CC please??)
Julep When Pencil Met Gel Liner in Electric Teal and MILK Lip Color in C.R.E.A.M.

#100DaysOfMakeup: Day 3

Day 03 4-02-16 strobing

This was an r/MakeupRehab theme of Strobing.
(eyeliner was a little rough, shakey hands)
Eyeko FAT Liquid Eyeliner and ColourPop Highlight in Stole The Show

#100DaysOfMakeup: Day 4

04-03-16

MLBB (My Lips, But Better)
Smashbox 24 Hour Photo Finish Primer and MILK Lip Color in C.R.E.A.M.

#100DaysOfMakeup: Day 5

img_20160404_164559.jpg

high glossed + Day 1 with The Rock Nudes
The Rock Nudes, Eyeko FAT Liquid Eyeliner +
Jessica Liebskine Gloss in Pink Sequin, over MILK Lip Color in C.R.E.A.M.

#100DaysOfMakeup: Day 6

04-05-16

This was an r/MakeupRehab theme of “All About That Base”
IPKN Primer, Benefit They’re Real! Tinted Primer, ColourPop Ultra Matte in Trap, The Rock Nudes.

and today:

#100DaysOfMakeup: Day 7

04-06-16

This was an r/MakeupRehab theme of Bold Lips.
The Rock Nudes, NYX Liquid Suede in Kitten Heels

Opinion of Maybelline NY: The Rock Nudes: This would be an everyday palette for me. There’s some deep colors for shadows, it’s very blendable even with my mediocre blending skill, and some light base colors. I personally have not been able to build this up to a super pigmented look… but I also don’t feel comfortable with those looks so quite honestly I may not have been trying very hard.

I’m definitely having fun with my one palette, one week challenge. I think it will help me get good use out of all of my palettes (I’m starting to amass a small collection even though I could go the rest of my life without wearing eyeshadow and be happy). And it gives me a way to force myself to be creative.

For my next week I’ll be using: ??????????????????????????????

I don’t actually know yet!!!! I was going to be using one of my 120 color palettes, but Amazon just cheerfully reminded me that I grabbed both of them in 2012 and I’d rather not put something that expired a ways back on my eyes, even though I know you can sanitize. I’m getting a temporary bulk color replacement palette that will be here Friday, so that will be what I use for the next week.

If any of you lovely ladies has a palette recommendation of nice pigmented, colorful shadows to play with for ~<$20 (or up to $30ish if it’s HG quality) I’d love to know. I don’t necessarily need 20 shades of each color but I’d like some vivids to mess around. Preferably with cute color names?? But that’s optional. It’s just fun to say “I’ve got flicker and enchanted on today.”

Help a girl out?

Hey! Let’s connect!
Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest
also feel free to add me on Facebook as a friend 🙂

5 thoughts on “What I Wore This Week | Palette A Week Intro

Hey girl!

