Boxes

Birchbox Ladies First {March 2016}

img_20160314_1043488241.jpg

About Birchbox: Birchbox is a $10/month subscription box filled with 4-6 beauty & cosmetics samples every month, delivered to your door in an adorable and reusable box. You will primarily receive deluxe samples with a few full size products every month or two. Your samples are moderately tailored to your beauty profile, and you can earn back $6.00 of your subscription cost in store credit every month by sharing your bag to social media (Facebook or Twitter) through the Birchbox website or app, and reviewing your items on the site.

Birchbox is currently unique in having the option each month to choose 1 of your samples from a selection, choose the curated box, OR leave your box random.

What’s In The Box?

img_20160315_184623.jpg

Curly Hair Solutions Curl Keeper Gel
SAMPLE = 1 oz packet
I haven’t tried this yet due to the non-resealable package. I’m happy with the sample size but I’m waiting to use it when I have a reason for my hair to be perfect all day.
Rating: TBD
Sample Value: $2.18
My Value: $0.99
Will I buy it? TBD
Full Size Price: $17.50

JUARA Radiance Enzyme Scrub
SAMPLE = 0.27 oz tube
This feels a little abrasive on the skin, but not in a bad way. I love that it’s both a physical scrub and an enzyme mask, and it’s super simple to use. I did notice a reduction in dead and rough skin, and my pores appeared mildly smaller due to the top layer of skin being clenased/renewed. This is a small tube but looks like it has plenty of uses. It’s not something I see myself using regularly and I can’t quite pinpoint why.
Rating: 3.5/5
Sample Value: $4.10
My Value: $3.19
Will I buy it? No, I’m not sure why not, but no.
Full Size Price: $38.00

Supergoop! Anti-Aging City Sunscreen Serum SPF 30
SAMPLE = 0.33 oz tube
This definitely smells like sunscreen, but it doesn’t feel overly greasy on your skin, and it did keep the rays of sun from frying my gingerness. I will definitely be using this on the days we hang out at the river, and it’s good for your skin? Yes please.
Rating: 3.5/5
Sample Value: $6.93
My Value: $2.55
Will I buy it? Too expensive.
Full Size Price: $42.00

theBalm Cosmetics Stainiac in Beauty Queen
SAMPLE = 0.04 oz mini
I was excited for another lip stain… but this is just kind of awful. I expected way better from theBalm. It feels sticky and syrupy and it looks red but ends up in a pretty loud shade of pink. It’s layerable, so there’s that. Maybe if you’re more of the pink and sparkles kind of girl you’d like this.
Rating: 1/5
Sample Value: $2.26
My Value: $1.29
Will I buy it? No way.
Full Size Price: $17.00

wp-1459286919663.jpg

Left to Right: trestiQue in Aspen Pine, Stainiac in Beauty Queen (1 layer, 2 layers)

tre’stiQue Color & Smudge Shadow Crayon in Aspen Pine
SAMPLE = 0.02 oz mini
I love tre’stiQue. Their products are fantastic and this is definitely one of them. I feel like I would like this a little better in a more neutral color because it is so blendable, but if you apply this and let it dry down for a tiny bit, you can scrub your fingers over it to your hearts content without a single smudge. Absolutely high quality. I’m just still learning how to blend this particular color into a look without it feeling muddy.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $8.66
My Value: $3.29
Will I buy it? I would pick this mini up in other colors.
Full Size Price: $26.00

Box Summary

img_20160315_184623.jpg

Box Cost: $10.00
Box Rating: 3/5
Full Size Products: 0  Deluxe Samples: 4  Foils: 1
Total Sample Value: $24.13
Total Personal Value: $11.31
+ Added Value: $5.00 in Birchbox Points
= Total Box Value = $16.31
Opinion: This box was really bipolar for me. Maybe it was just my mood this month but nothing was like ‘oh hell YES’ in the preview, though I will only be getting rid of the Stainiac and everything is useful to me, I’m just a little meh. Birchbox is still up there in my subscriptions and I have no intention of cancelling due to one month, especially because everything is something useful.

Sign-up for Birchbox, or see more of my Birchbox reviews!

Hey! Let’s connect!
Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest
also feel free to add me on Facebook as a friend 🙂

Hey girl!

