Boxes

Beauty Box 5 Unboxing {March 2016}

 

beautybox5-march-2016-unboxing.jpg.jpg

About Beauty Box 5: Beauty Box 5 is a fun subscription box that sends you 5 deluxe samples and full size products every month in a cute teal box for $12.00 per month, or as low as $8.25 with a longer subscription term.

The boxes are curated, with a little variation to colors or flavors you receive such as with nail polish or lip balm. They do not currently tailor to your beauty profile, but are setting up to do so in the future, and their Instagram gives out great previews of what you can see in your box before it ships out by the 9th of the month. Their typical box is full of pretty, practical, and highly usable beauty products that add some extra fun to your beauty routine. Grab the box here!

What’s In The Box?

img_20160328_113053511-01.jpeg

ColourMe Pink Fragrance
SAMPLE = one vial (0.06 oz?)
The color is called pink and it’s scented like white roses? Ummm??? Apparently I’m not a fan of the smell of pink any more than I am the color. Roses aren’t my thing to the point that the flower being around tends to make me nauseous, sooo this will not be staying with me.
Rating: 1/5
Sample Value: $0.35?
My Value: $0.25
Will I buy it? Not even a little tempted.
Full Size Price: $20.00

Mai Couture Blush Papiers in Prettyful
SAMPLE = 2 papiers
This product would be great if you’re the type of person that travels all the time or rushes to work and ALSO actually cares about blush. The only time I legit travel is to see my guy, and I have never once cared about wearing blush when there. Sunscreen, mascara/liner, concealer, good to go. I am saving them for my next trip just because well when the hell else am I going to use them? But I tried the pigment of one and they do apply easily and this is a pretty soft pink color.
Rating: 3/5
Sample Value: $0.60 for 2
My Value: $0.50 for 2
Will I buy it? It’s not practical for my lifestyle.
Full Size Price: $15.00 for 50

Mai Couture Blush Papiers in Sunset Blvd.
SAMPLE = 2 papiers
Since I just gave my opinion on the product, we’ll talk about the color, this is Almost a bronzer color. I guess they gave one pair of each color so you wouldn’t just write them off as a single color product? I’ll also be bringing these on my trip. I can’t wait to see his expression if he sees me use them.
Rating: 3/5
Sample Value: $0.60 for 2
My Value: $0.50 for 2
Will I buy it? It’s not practical for my lifestyle.
Full Size Price: $15.00 for 50

pur-lisse Blue Lotus 4-in-1 Eye Adore Serum
SAMPLE = 0.24 oz
Super expensive eye creams are something I probably won’t understand for a few years. This is cool, it’s nice to receive a $30+ sample, but it makes me question what age range this box is for? I’m still working on an eye cream that I don’t think can do anything for me at this age, so this is going to mom since she’ll actually get use from it. The texture is nice though, and the scent is pleasant.
Rating: N/A
Sample Value: $31.20
My Value: $3.29
Will I buy it? I’m not in need of eye cream.
Full Size Price: $65.00

beautybox5-glamourdolls-glitter-liner.jpg.jpg

Glamour Dolls Glitter Liner in Jenna (Lilac)
FULL SIZE
I do not remotely understand why this product type would be included. Up until this item, I thought that the box was branded towards women in their early 20s to mid 30s, and then I get… glitter liner, from an entire store branded out to make women look and act like little airheads? No. Just no. AND it was in a box with an eye cream to reduce wrinkles? Make up your mind, BB5!! Sometimes with samples you should just say no, because they’re SILLY. The website also claims it’s highly pigmented, but the only color I noticed in the slightest is the actual pieces of glitter. Not keeping.
Rating: 1/5
Sample Value: $3.99
My Value: $1.29
Will I buy it? Since I’m not 14 or a hooker, no, I will not.
Full Size Price: $3.99

wp-1459287022604.jpg

Personail Custom Floral Nail Polish Wraps
FULL SIZE
I’m getting a little tired of nail wraps. They just feel like stickers on my fingers, and I never have top coat to seal them down properly to keep them from ripping. But these are pretty cute, and they seem like good quality and size variation, and the pattern is appropriate for someone to wear in the real world, so if they had to include them, this is a good set to do.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $12.99
My Value: $5.99
Will I buy it? It would have to be a really special occasion for me to pay full price for nail wraps.
Full Size Price: $12.99

Box Summary

beautybox5-march-2016-unboxing.jpg.jpg

Box Cost: $12.00 (I paid $8.00/box on a deal)
Box Rating: 2.5
Full Size Products: 2  Deluxe Samples: 2 Foils: 2
Total Sample Value: $51.73
Total Personal Value: $10.22
+ Added Value: $2.00 (retail) $0.74 (personal) Temporary Tattoo
= Total Box Value = $10.96
Opinion: This box is the ONLY BB5 box that I’ve received and been really meh or disappointed. The products that I’d keep are either one (or two) time use, and the others are this mish-mash of things for the too young for me pile and too old for me pile. It came super late this month, but that was due to my post office, the holiday, and a delay in a shipment of products for the box being sent To BB5 for packaging. If this had been my only box, I’d 100% have unsubscribed. But I put my faith in them and let my quarterly membership renew today.

Sign-up for Beauty Box 5, or check out the other Beauty Box 5 boxes I’ve received.

(Use HALFOFF code for $6.00 off – 1/2 first box price – w/quarterly for $8.00/box.)

Hey! Let’s connect!
Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest
also feel free to add me on Facebook as a friend 🙂

One thought on “Beauty Box 5 Unboxing {March 2016}

Hey girl!

