Boxes

Double Ipsy Unbagging! {March 2016}

About Ipsy: Ipsy is the $10/month beauty subscription bag known for being more ‘makeup’ based. They ship you 4-6 deluxe to full size samples every month, inside a cute or chic makeup bag, all wrapped up in a bright pink bubble-wrap envelope. Samples are somewhat customized to your beauty profile, and come from a variety of well known to indie brands, ranging from high end to drugstore prices. You can earn ~100 points each month for reviewing your products and bag, and sharing those reviews on Facebook or Twitter. These points can then be redeemed for specific point rewards (samples/cosmetics) varying in value. Sign-up here.

double ipsy unbagging march 2016.jpg

*NOTE: the eye crayon on the far right was a points item, not part of the bag.

Initial Impressions: I’m pretty okay with this array. I have 2 duplicates across bags that Ipsy has no way to know are related. I got different colored bags (awesome), I got a duplicate brush, but it’s a functional brush and it’s one my mom will put the extra to good use of, and I got a duplicate full sized lip color that I will likely give away purely because I won’t go through 2.

What’s In Bag #1?

ipsy march 2016 bag 1 unboxing.jpg

Skone Cosmetics Insanely Intense Tattooed Eyeliner in Jet Black
FULL SIZE
I do have two black eyeliners right now, plus 2 elf spares, but this is a gorgeous liner and it applies easily and I’ll likely alternate between this and my Eyeko FAT liner depending on my look each day. It fits perfectly into my profile as I had liners selected and a good black is always a solid choice, even if other colors are pretty too. After a brush from Skone that came very rough and had to be conditioned, I’m very glad to see this isn’t accurate to most of their products and the quality of this is awesome. I can’t give a complete assessment on it’s staying power as I only wore it half a day before a bath.
Rating: 4.5/5
Sample Value: $20.00
My Value: $8.99
Will I buy it? TBD
Full Size Price: $20.00

Organic Sure Lavender Meadow Hand & Nail Cream
SAMPLE = 0.09 oz tube
Whyyy is it lavender? What is it about lavender and coconut. It’s such an older crowd scent profile to me. The worst part is it smells so awful but it worked REALLY well. But I passed it onto my mom since she Is a fan of the lavender smells. And my hands are legit healthier and in better shape even days later from the one application.
Rating: 5/5 for effectiveness.
Sample Value: $2.30
My Value: $2.29
Will I buy it? If I can find this in a store in another scent, I’d pick it up, I would not place an order just for a hand cream.
Full Size Price: $6.40

NYX Cosmetics Liquid Suede Cream Lipstick in Kitten Heels
FULL SIZE
Out of the 3 colors available, two appealed to me. This was one of them. I’m so relieved I didn’t get that Barbie doll pink as either color, so I don’t mind having one of this color from each bag. This is a very very vibrant red. It goes on very smoothly, and it dries down Almost all the way, with just a little transfer on a back of the hand kiss. It does NOT layer well and will become quite… crumbly, or ball up on your lips if you attempt to apply it to the inner pout in a layer. I will be experimenting with this more for longevity, but it’s not nearly as drying as other liquids, and I look forward to seeing if I could layer this while wet with something else to dull the color just a little for versatility.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $7.00
My Value: $6.99
Will I buy it? TBD based on how it wears throughout the day.
Full Size Price: $7.00

Me me me Loose Powder Brush
FULL SIZE – TOOL
NOTE: I received 2 of these brushes, one in each bag. This brush was loose at the handle, the other was a lot firmer in the connection. Besides that: It’s about average for what it does. It applies loose powder. It also works decent for pressed powders and blushes. I cannot justify an expensive brush purely because I found a very high quality set for around $11 that included a brush for the same purpose.
Rating: 2.5/5 due to loose handle
Sample Value: $19.36
My Value: $2.99
Will I buy it? I already had powder brushes
Full Size Price: $19.36

TEMPTU Warm Glow Bronzer
SAMPLE = 0.25 oz bottle
So this is an airbrush makeup brand, and this is a tester bottle for that system, however it also can be applied by hand, so I’m not sure why SO many people that received this sample are upset. It’s highly usable and blendable. I have no problem with the product in that way. But it does look a little too warm on my skin, and I’m not into the tan look. I don’t think it’s something I’ll use since I’m getting quite the little collection of bronzers now.
Rating: 3/5
Sample Value: $6.87
My Value: $1.29
Will I buy it? No.
Full Size Price: $27.50

What’s In Bag #2?

ipsy march 2016 bag 2.jpg

NOTE: the eye crayon on the right is a points reward, not a bag item.

NoTS 28 Remedy Balancing Toner
SAMPLE = 0.3 oz tube
Ipsy did SOOO good in sending me this!!! I chose toners in the new quiz, AND it’s acne fighting? Good job ipsy!!!!! Don’t be an idiot and open the foil seal with your mouth though. It tastes like kerosene if it decompresses into your mouth. However, it’s a luxurious texture, it doesn’t sting getting into blemishes, and it smooths on without having to rinse it off or use cotton pads to apply. I cannot yet say if it affects my breakouts, if I see results I will do a follow up review.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $5.29
My Value: $1.39
Will I buy it? No. Have you seen the price?
Full Size Price: $59.99

eSalon Perfect Ending Leave-In Conditioner
SAMPLE = 1 oz tube
I tried this right away and days later with nothing else in my hair, it’s still soft and frizz-free. Pretty good results! Neutral scent, the texture is soft and relaxing,
Rating: 5/5
Sample Value: $3.00
My Value: $2.50
Will I buy it? It’s a little pricey for a conditioner to me, but does work for DAYS.
Full Size Price: $15.00

Pixi by Petra Beauty Blush Duo in Rose Gold
FULL SIZE
NOTE: conflicting information; Pixi by Petra website lists a size 0.2 oz bigger, this seems to be due to brush weight and I am considering this full size unless I learn otherwise. The product is nice shades I would have considered, but they’re not very pigmented. Which could be considered a good thing if you like light application, which I do. But it’s also very hard to get pigment with layering, which I like the option to do even if I don’t do it. This issue is consistent across both this item and the eyeshadow duo I’ve tried from Pixi by Petra, so I’m wondering if it’s a brand philosophy.
Rating: 3.5/5
Sample Value: $18.00
My Value: $5.19
Will I buy it? No
Full Size Price: $18.00

NYX Cosmetics Liquid Suede Cream Lipstick in Kitten Heels
FULL SIZE
Duplicate = Repeat Description: This is a very very vibrant red. It goes on very smoothly, and it dries down Almost all the way, with just a little transfer on a back of the hand kiss. It does NOT layer well and will become quite… crumbly, or ball up on your lips if you attempt to apply it to the inner pout in a layer. I will be experimenting with this more for longevity, but it’s not nearly as drying as other liquids, and I look forward to seeing if I could layer this while wet with something else to dull the color just a little for versatility.”
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $7.00
My Value: $6.99
Will I buy it? TBD
Full Size Price: $7.00

Me me me Loose Powder Brush
FULL SIZE – TOOL
NOTE: I received 2 of these brushes, one in each bag. This brush was fine, the other had a loose handle. Besides that: It’s about average for what it does. It applies loose powder. It also works decent for pressed powders and blushes. I cannot justify an expensive brush purely because I found a very high quality set for around $11 that included a brush for the same purpose.
Rating: 3.5/5
Sample Value: $19.86
My Value: $2.99
Will I buy it? I already had powder brushes
Full Size Price: $19.86

double ipsy unbagging march 2016.jpg

Bag #1 {Red} Summary

Bag Cost: $10.00
Bag Rating: 4
Full Size Products: 3  Deluxe Samples: 2  Foils: 0
Total Sample Value: $56.03
Total Personal Value: $22.55
+ Added Value: $2.99 for bag.
= Total Bag Value = $25.54
Opinion: Out of the two bags, this is my lesser favorite. There’s nothing wrong with any item. But more items worked for me in the other. If I only had one subscription, I would still consider this bag a win, especially in comparison to some other boxes I’ve seen this month.

Bag #2 {Blue} Summary

Bag Cost: $10.00
Bag Rating: 4.5
Full Size Products: 3  Deluxe Samples: 2  Foils: 0
Total Sample Value: $53.15
Total Personal Value: $19.06
+ Added Value: $3.99 for bag
= Total Box Value = $23.05
Opinion: This my favorite of the bags. While I don’t use blush often, every other item fits me and my preferences, and I will likely use this blush. I love the lipstick, I LOVE that I got a toner, I’m fine with a powder brush as I have brushes selected, and the leave in conditioner worked amazing for me though I didn’t select any hair options, this is probably one of the most versatile products. And the blue bag is soooo cute and chic.

Sign-up for your first Ipsy Glambag, or check out my other Ipsy bag reviews, OR see what quiz choices I used to get these bags.

wp-1458278863312.jpgSkone Cosmetics Intensely Tattooed Eyeliner in Jet Black
& NYX Cosmetics Liquid Suede Liquid Lipstick in Kitten Heels

**Swatches of every color here, and from my other recent boxes, are on Instagram**

BONUS ITEM

Beaute Basics Eye Shadow Crayon in Sahara Gold
FULL SIZE
I was unsure about whether or not I would keep this subscription so when there was a points perk I liked for just 250 points, I jumped on it. This is a really pretty shimmery gold that can blend or apply pretty thick and glamorous. I’m excited to add this to my makeup looks.
Rating: 4.5/5
Sample Value: $19.99
My Value: $3.99
Will I buy it? I already had powder brushes
Full Size Price: $19.99

Hey! Let’s Connect!
Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest
also feel free to add me on Facebook as a friend 🙂

Hey girl!

