Boxes

BeautyCon BFF Winter Unboxing!

About The BeautyCon Box: BeautyCon is a seasonal subscription box, normally totaling ~$35.99 per quarter once you add shipping. This is a completely curated, non-customized box, and every subscriber will receive the same things each quarter. The boxes are put together by popular gurus or celebs and seem to always include a mascara and a lippie among the various other beauty items and accessories.

This review is for the Winter box which came out in December and JUST sold out, but the Spring box will be mailed out in March and will be what you get if you subscribe now!

beautyconbff unboxing

First Subscriber Impressions: I actually was a little bummed to get the Winter box, primarily because I’d seen the ears and just thought they were a little… ok ENTIRELY not me. Also I knew the second I got them, monseiur Boyfriend would be pushing for pics of me wearing them. Yes they exist. No I’m not showing you. 😛 But the products in here are pretty amazing and I more than got my money’s worth. I got the subscription for an average of $19.36 per box (once you include shipping) for my first year.

beautycon bff winter 2015 unboxing

What’s In The Box?

beautyconbff winter 2015 box

Soap & Glory Hand Food Hydrating Hand Cream
SAMPLE = 1.69 oz tube
So this feels amazing on your hands… but this um… ‘rose’ or ‘pink’ scent? It smells like playdough to me. I’m hypersensitive to smells when I’m not sick, so this? Isn’t happening. Congats mom it’s ALL yours.
Rating: 2/5 for smell, 4/5 for effectiveness.
Sample Value: $3.21
My Value: $1.50
Will I buy it? I do not feel sexy smelling like playdough.
Full Size Price: $8.00

revlon ultra matte

Revlon Ultra HD Matte Lipcolor in Addiction
FULL SIZE
This is a little strange to apply the first time (mostly because I’m still a newbie to the majority of lippie products), but it’s a gorgoeus color and glides on smoothly. It even covers that fleshy inner lip part that if you’ve read almost any of my posts that contain a lip product you know annoys the fk out of me to not have covered. It does transfer, but then again it never really claimed not to? I’m not sure how ‘matte’ it is. But it’s gorgeous. I love having this color in my arsenal, and it’s just gorgeous.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $8.99
My Value: $5.99
Will I buy it? Unsure. I’m more into long-wear.
Full Size Price: $8.99

Murad Hydrating Toner
SAMPLE = 0.5 oz spray bottle
The spritzer bottle confused the hell out of me when I got this. But it’s pretty neat. Spritz it on your face and neck, be moisturized and feel like your skin is fresh and clean. Using this makes my skin feel dewy and it feels like it erases so much damage and irritation. There’s nothing to not like about this toner.
Rating: 4.5/5
Sample Value: $2.33
My Value: $2.33
Will I buy it? Unsure. If my acne problems die down, maybe.
Full Size Price: $28.00

colourpop stole the show
ColourPop Super Shock Cheek Pearlized in Stole The Show (arrived + fixed)

ColourPop Super Shock Cheek Pearlized in Stole The Show
FULL SIZE
This actually arrived and freaked me out because it looked so weird. First I thought it was wrecked because I assumed it’s a powder, but it’s basically a cream, and it smoothed out. It just highly protested the Minnesota cold!! So the picture shows before and after it’s fixed, and it’s so gorgeous and shiny. I love it on my cheekbones, over a lipstick, cupids bow, inner eye corner, browbone. It’s just gorgeous on everything. This is currently my go-to highlighter since it’s light enough for even the palest of the pale skin tones.
Rating: 4.5/5
Sample Value: $8.00
My Value: $7.00
Will I buy it? If I run out of highlighters, this is on my list of favorites!
Full Size Price: $8.00

Essie Marshmallow Nail Colour
FULL SIZE
I need to try this again. My first experience trying it was AWFUL. It literally looked like melted marshmallow on my nails. Glumpy and yucky and amateurish. But everyone else seems to have excellent luck with it. Sooo we’ll try it and do a follow up (and edit this review once it’s tried, with pictures)
Rating: 1.5/5
Sample Value: $8.50
My Value: $1.99
Will I buy it? … I need to try it again
Full Size Price: $8.50

Disney Minnie Mouse Ears
ACCESSORY
so… the ears… he got pictures. enough said.
Rating: 3/5
Sample Value: $8.00
My Value: $3.00
Will I buy it? NO.
Full Size Price: $8.00

beautyconbff testing
Maybelline ‘the falsies’ push up drama + Revlon Ultra Matte HD

Maybelline The Falsies Push Up Drama in Blackest Black
FULL SIZE
Oh yay another mascara… but this made me finally retire my current favorite that was just nearing that 3 month mark! Applied from the top and bottom of your upper lashes in one coat each, this is THICK, and Lengthening, and gives them HELLA curl. It looks Gorgeous. It’s a little messy that first time. But sooo easy. And drugstore?! YES.
Rating: 4.5/5
Sample Value: $6.72
My Value: $6.72
Will I buy it? YES YES YES
Full Size Price: $6.72

Garnier Fructis Full & Plush Root Amp Root Lifting Spray Mousse
FULL SIZE
This is pretty neat! I love mousse products and the spray on aspect is dynamic. it works great for spraying on the baby hairs that escape my ponytail and tucking them up where they belong! Finally a hair ‘spray’ that I’ll actually use.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $6.76
My Value: $3.99
Will I buy it? It’s a mousse I’d look at purchasing.
Full Size Price: $6.76

BeautyConBFF Gold Digger Notebook
ONE NOTEBOOK
The cover and theme is cute, but the paper is a little rough and the binding is rather… harsh? I guess? IT doesn’t flip nicely. Also I’m not a big fan of really dark lines in a notebook after being spoiled with my Leuchtturm 1917 journals. It’s currently my blog goals notebook, though.
Rating: 2.5/5
Sample Value: $7.00?
My Value: $2.50
Will I buy it? Nope.
Full Size Price: $7.00?

Disney Minnie Mouse Jewelry Inspired Tattoos
FULL SIZE
I gave these away. They just didn’t excite me and I knew there were some girls my mom works at that would enjoy them either for themselves or their kids.
Rating: N/A
Sample Value: $16.00
My Value: $3.99
Will I buy it? NO.
Full Size Price: $16.00

BONUS ITEMS:
GIFTCARD/DISCOUNT CARD: $10 off $50 at Aeropostale (gave to mom to give away)
GIFTCARD/DISCOUNT CARD: $20 off $50 at Nike (gave to Boyfriend)

Box Summary

beautyconbff winter 2015 box unboxing

Box Rating: 3.5
Full Size Products: 8 Deluxe Samples: 2 Foils: 0
Total Sample Value: $75.51
Total Personal Value: $39.01
+ Added Value: $20.00 for boyfriend, but not anything I’d use, so $0 for me.
= Total Box Value = $39.01
Opinion: This is a cool subscription because it’s lots of full size products. I’m excited to be getting it for under $20.00 per quarter, and VERY excited that the Spring box will be coming out already in March! This particular box wouldn’t have been something I chose due to the more expensive items being worth almost nothing to me personally, so I’m hoping the next box will be a little more… grown up? Chic and less quirky?

Hey! Let’s connect!
Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest
also feel free to add me on Facebook as a friend 🙂

2 thoughts on “BeautyCon BFF Winter Unboxing!

Hey girl!

