Boxes

Double Birchbox Unboxing! {February 2016}

I’m a dual Birchbox subscriber, and this month the Date Night box didn’t interest me in the slightest. So I got two random boxes with my sample choices! Wanna see what’s inside?

First, if you haven’t heard:

About Birchbox: Birchbox is a $10/month subscription box filled with 4-6 beauty & cosmetics samples every month, delivered to your door in an adorable and reusable box. You will primarily receive deluxe samples with a few full size products every month or two. Your samples are moderately tailored to your beauty profile, and you can earn back $6.00 of your subscription cost in store credit every month by sharing your bag to social media (Facebook or Twitter) through the Birchbox website or app, and reviewing your items on the site.

Birchbox is currently unique in having the option each month to choose 1 of your samples from a selection, choose the curated box, OR leave your box random.

Sign-up for Birchbox, or see more of my Birchbox reviews!

What’s In Box #1?

birchbox february 2016 box 1.jpg

12 Benefits Instant Healthy Hair Treatment
SAMPLE = 1.5 oz bottle
I only got a chance to try this once so far, just due to the amount of hair products I received this month, but I sprayed it on after washing my hair and it did make it feel healthy and shiny and soft. I’ll do a more thorough review once I get a chance to test out it’s benefits.
Rating: 5/5
Sample Value: $5.50
My Value: $2.99
Will I buy it? The only thing wrong with this is it’s a little pricey, but it should also last For-EVER. I would watch for sales of this after I stop getting hair samples.
Full Size Price: $22.00

Hey Honey Take It Off Exfoliating Honey Peel Off Mask (MY SAMPLE CHOICE)
SAMPLE = 0.34 oz tube
I can’t believe the results i got on this in just minutes. I tested it on a patch on the back of my hand (knuckle/back of palm area), and the lines and roughness was GONE. Basically I instantly recommended it to my favorite man because I’m not quite yet worrying about wrinkles. I actually still see a difference on that spot of my hand over a week later.
Rating: 5/5
Sample Value: $5.80
My Value: $5.00
Will I buy it? VERY probable. Especially if I can use BB points or score a sale because it’s a little pricey, but seems so worth it.
Full Size Price: $29.00

TOCCA Eau de Parfum, Emelia
SAMPLE = 0.05 oz spritzer
This fits my scent profile so well. A little fruity, a little cozy… but it just didn’t appeal to me. I can’t pinpoint it. I passed it onto my mom.
Rating: 3/5
Sample Value: $2.00
My Value: $0.50
Will I buy it? No
Full Size Price: $68.00

COOLA Face SPF 30 Unscented Matte Tint
SAMPLE = 0.17 oz tube
I was astonished that this blended into my skin. It’s got a BB cream like quality in having yellow undertones that correct and smooth out your complexion. I’m paper white and this worked for me, which almost never happens. The only downside is that I couldn’t use it with a beauty blender because it’ll get sucked right up, wet or not.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $3.60
My Value: $1.25
Will I buy it? I’d rather try other products to see if there is an inexpensive alternative.
Full Size Price: $36.00

ARROW BOOST Color Enhancing Lip Balm
FULL SIZE
Oh the color changing balm. ‘Custom’ color. Yes, because every color technically looks different on different people. I still think this has nothing to do with pH, and is really just the red dyes that turn pink, but it’s still sort of a cool concept. It does go on smooth, does turn a nice pleasant shade of pink on my undertones that’s not too strong or too opaque, and it does make my lips feel moisturized. I think this will sell well to the people that jump onto trends, there’s nothing wrong with it, I’ll use it, but it’s nothing special to me.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $14.00
My Value: $3.99
Will I buy it? No.
Full Size Price: $14.00

What’s In Box #2?

birchbox february 2016 box 2

Not Soap, Radio Body Wash in Liquid Freud
SAMPLE = 1.1 oz bottle
I have NOT tried this item. I’m not a fan of coconut, and while the coconut-mango scent of this is the least offensive coconut scent I’ve ever had, since my guy IS a coconut fan, it’s heading down to Florida on my next trip for him. The names and descriptions are unbelievably cute though, and I’d highly consider getting this as a gift. Maybe we’ll make him toss in an opinion when he tries it. 😉
Rating: N/A
Sample Value: $1.29
My Value: $0.99
Will I buy it? Unsure for myself; as a gift perhaps.
Full Size Price: $16.00

Whish Revitalizing Cleansing Oil
SAMPLE = 0.5 oz tube
I’m getting over my fears of using oil products on acne prone skin. This didn’t break me out. It did leave my skin feeling moisturized and clean. I wasn’t wearing makeup when I used this so I’m unsure how it works as a makeup remover. It’s very neutral for me.
Rating: 3.5/5
Sample Value: $4.41
My Value: $1.50
Will I buy it? This isn’t a product type I would buy.
Full Size Price: $30.00

Obliphica Professional Seaberry Serum – Medium to Coarse
SAMPLE = 0.5 oz bottle
I didn’t have high hopes for this product (primarily due to receiving so many hair products it was DAUNTING this month), and this blew my mind. I don’t want to give it up. I don’t want to use it up and then have my hair be sad and missing it. Best use I’ve found is massaging it into the tips of my hair the first night after a shower, and then wiping the remainder from my hands over my hair to tame any flyaways. It lasts for days if you’re lazy and not up for washing it out. It smells wonderful. I really really hope they duplicate this someday in my other box.
Rating: 5/5
Sample Value: $8.63
My Value: $3.50
Will I buy it? So tempted, need to find a way to justify the price.
Full Size Price: $38.00

Color Club Nail Polish in That’s My Jam
SAMPLE = 0.25 oz bottle
Sooo… it’s red. It’s a pretty cherry/wine-y red, but it’s red. I have red. I haven’t opened it. I haven’t tried it. It might show up in a giveaway. I don’t wear nail polish enough to need THREE reds. I wish they had sent a more unique or remarkable color, although I do understand a red polish as it’s pretty universal to anyone that would wear it and it IS February…
Rating: N/A
Sample Value: $4.25
My Value: $1.50
Will I buy it? It didn’t impact me at all. I’d have to see more.
Full Size Price: $8.50

ARROW BOOST Color Enhancing Lip Balm (MY SAMPLE CHOICE)
SAMPLE = x
See review from Box #1. It’s ^^^ dattaway
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $14.00
My Value: $3.99
Will I buy it? Nah.
Full Size Price: $14.00

Box #1 Summary

Box Rating: 4
Full Size Products: 1 Deluxe Samples: 4 Foils: 0
Total Sample Value: $30.90
Total Personal Value: $13.73
+ Added Value: $6.00 in Birchbox Points
= Total Box Value = $19.73
Opinion: This was a pretty average box for me. There were some amazing products and some that were just meh. I feel like I got my money’s worth and I got to try some new products, and even what I gave away was interesting to try.

Box #2 Summary

Box Rating: 4
Full Size Products: 1 Deluxe Samples: 4 Foils: 0
Total Sample Value: $32.58
Total Personal Value: $11.48
+ Added Value: $6.00 in Birchbox Points
= Total Box Value = $17.48
Opinion: This box was also pretty average. My sample choice didn’t particularly thrill me, though I don’t regret picking it. I would have been disappointed not to try it. The Seaberry Serum was hands down the winner of this box, and I don’t mind getting some things to give to my man too.

Winning box?

Actually I think both of these boxes tie for me this month. They both had a 5 star item in my opinion, and also both had things that I will give away.

Winning product?

Torn between the Hey Honey, Take It Off mask, or the Obliphica Professional serum… I think the serum has to win out by a thread just because it’s something I’ll use for myself more. But the Hey Honey is something I’ll be running back to in a few years when those fine lines scare me.

Hey! Let’s connect!
Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest
also feel free to add me on Facebook as a friend 🙂

Hey girl!

