Boxes

Double Ipsy Unbagging! {February 2016}

Yep! You heard (and saw) right! The girl that hated her first Ipsy bag, got two this month. And quite honestly, the previews of what was coming in my bag was disheartening, and then… I got the bags.

ipsyfebruary2016 both bags

My first thoughts about both of these bags were… “well it could be worse,” but then I was hanging out with my mom and swatching things along my arm… and I’m rather impressed with the products I got!

Bag #1:

ipsy february 2016 bag1

Naked Cosmetics Mica Pigment in Sierra Nevada #02
FULL SIZE
I didn’t expect to like this. Oh yay. Nude shadow. Why wouldn’t I just not wear shadow then? But it’s soooo pretty and shiny, and actually blends into my skin with this golden haze of luxury. So so so so so pretty. I’ll actually reach for this one, even as an individual eyeshadow.
Rating: 4.5/5
Sample Value: $14.99
My Value: $4.99
Would I buy it? I’ll so be getting Naked again! (had to say it)
Full Size Price: $14.99

Luxie Beauty Flat Definer Brush 221
FULL SIZE
This brush will most likely be used for me as a lower liner/inner eye corner brush. It applies in basically one tap, and it can be thick or smudged very easily. It’s a little small for me to want to use it for lid application, but it’s soft yet stiff and very well formed. There’s been no shedding for me at all on either of the brushes I received from Ipsy/Luxie.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $12.00
My Value: $4.99
Would I buy it? I love the brand based on the two brushes I tried. I wouldn’t pick up this specific brush again, although I love it, but I’ll be watching for sales from them after my ‘try-all-the-brushes’ phase.
Full Size Price: $12.00

Smashbox Cosmetics Photo Finish Primer Oil
SAMPLE = 0.14 oz bottle
I’m still so skeptical about putting oils onto my skin, but I trusted in Smashbox and I don’t regret it. This doesn’t leave me feeling oily, it keeps my makeup on all day, and it has NOT broken me out in the least. Even my current breakouts are still getting better, not worse. It is a little weird to put on, partially due to the sample size and no applicator/dropper to draw it out.
Rating: 4.5/5
Sample Value: $5.46
My Value: $2.50
Would I buy it? It’s a little pricey for me; I prefer their Photo Finish 24 Hour Face Primer.
Full Size Price: $42.00

Promise Organic Ultra Moisturizing Argan Crème Facial Lotion
SAMPLE = 0.5 oz tube
I wasn’t super excited about this in my bag, except that I needed another moisturizer at the time. But once you put it on and smell it and feel it? Ohmygosh. It feels light, supple, and fresh on your skin. It glides on fine over overly dry skin as well as breakouts and sensitivity. I love that it’s a ‘drugstore’ product, because then I don’t mind buying it!
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $4.40
My Value: $3.50
Would I buy it? I’d grab this! Affordable, supple, gentle? Yes.
Full Size Price: $14.99

Chella Lipstick Pencil in Passionate Pink
FULL SIZE? (0.04 oz)
This product was a little hard to get a read on what the full size volume is. Going off of their highlight stick (which appears to be the same size as the lipstick pencil listed on their website) this May be full size? Maybe. I didn’t expect to like it. At all. I almost didn’t swatch it. But I’m so glad I did. It’s this rosey punchy pink and it glides on like butter. I don’t even want to give it up now! It’s this mix between matte and supple chic that’s almost Perfect. I’m just not super big on pinks.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $18.00 IF full size
My Value: $4.99
Would I buy it? I’d have to find a color I’m more fond of.
Full Size Price: $18.00

Bag #2:

ipsy february 2016 bag2

theBalm Cosmetics Mr. Write (Now) in Jac B. Bronze
FULL SIZE
I got this originally as the Scott B. Bordeaux in my January bag of my other Ipsy subscription, and maybe it was just the weather or a bad batch, but my tip broke, this time there wasn’t any breakage, it still didn’t go on as smoothly as I’d like to see, but about average for push-up eyeliners. I wish the color was a little more warm and a little less green toned though.
Rating: 3.5/5
Sample Value: $17.00
My Value: $4.99
Would I buy it? It’s nothing super special to me.
Full Size Price: $17.00

Luxie Beauty Small Tapered Blending Eye Brush 231
FULL SIZE
This is my first time actually using a blending brush, and it worked GORGEOUSLY with the Naked Cosmetics Mica Pigment in my other bag. I can definitely see this being what I reach for whenever I’ll be using a blending brush. It’s luscious and soft and such a cute shade of pink.
Rating: 4.5/5
Sample Value: $12.00
My Value: $4.99
Would I buy it? Luxie is a brand I’m more than happy to have in my kit. I may pick up more after my ‘try-all-the-brushes’ phase.
Full Size Price: $12.00

VINTAGE by Jessica Liebeskind Sparkling Lipgloss in Pink Sequin
MINI? = 0.14 oz (same as full size… maybe?)
This is the most deceiving product ever (ok not really, but kind of), first of all, it LOOKS, like this little teeny-bopper, too-shiny, glitter-loaded mess of pinkness. But then you swatch it, then you try it on, and it actually looks pretty damn gorgeous. Even the boyfriend approved. The second problem I had with this, is it’s one of the products it’s hard to find the size details of, according to HSN, who sold this on a special, it’s full size is 0.14 oz. According to the sticker on the bottom of this tube, the volume is also 0.14 oz. So either the full size isn’t ‘full’ and/or the brush takes up a lot of room, or they put the full size sticker on the bottom of this sample. I’m going to give the benefit of a doubt and take this as full size, but in cheaper/shorter packaging.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $21.00 IF full size
My Value: $4.99
Would I buy it?
Full Size Price: $21.00

tre’stiQue Baby Blush Stick in Bora Bora Coral
MINI/BABY = 0.04 oz stick
I’m not a blush person. I’m not. I’m really not. I pinch my or slap my cheeks to give them color, or just think inappropriate thoughts. And then, there’s trestique. This color? So peachy coral, soo bright, almost barbie doll bright, but it blends into my skin and gives it this gentle glow. Everything I’ve seen from tre’stiQue looks Amazing. I can’t wait to try more.
Rating: 5/5
Sample Value: $6.47
My Value: $5.99
Would I buy it? I’m still not considering blush a necessity. But tre’stiQue is on my shopping list for other items!
Full Size Price: $34.00

My Amazing Hair Secrets My Amazing Leave In Secret
SAMPLE = 1 oz bottle
This is actually a pretty nice add-in conditioner. Wash, condition, towel dry, then spray a bit of this in run it through to the tips of your hair, and you get shiny sleek less-frizz-bound. Not a HUGE fan of the smell, but it’s not bad either.
Rating: 3.5/5
Sample Value: $3.24
My Value: $1.99
Would I buy it? Unsure right now, I’d need to see long term results.
Full Size Price: $22.00

Swatches:

*sorry for the crappy Mr. Write (NOW) swatch*

ipsy feb 2016 swatches 1
1 – Naked Cosmetics Mica Pigment in SN-02, 2 – Chella Lipstick Pencil in Passionate Pink, 3 – Vintage by Jessica Liebeskind Sparkly Lipgloss in Pink Sequin, 4 – tre’stiQue Baby Blush Stick in Bora Bora Coral
ipsy feb 2016 swatches 2
5 – Naked Cosmetics Mica Pigment in SN-02 OVER Smashbox Photo Finish Oil APPLIED with Luxie Flat Definer Brush, 6 – theBalm Mr. Write (NOW) in Jac B. Bronze.

Box Comparison:

ipsy february 2016 bags
Box #1: Bottom — Box #2: Top

Bag #1 (Original profile)

Some deets: Light skin, blue eyes, red hair, dyed hair, 24, acne prone skin, like eyeshadow, Edgy/Club-Goer/Classic, very adventurous, very experienced, etc.

Box Rating: 4
Full Size Products: 3 Deluxe Samples: 2 Foils: 0
Total Sample Value: $54.85
Total Personal Value: $20.97
+ Added Value: $5.00 bag; 100 points = $7.99 est.
= Total Box Value = $33.96
Opinion: This is definitely an improvement from my first bag. The bag is cute, the products were so good they actually surprised me, but there still just wasn’t anything that was like ‘OH MY GOD I can’t WAIT to try THAT’, and there were options for that… I prefer subscriptions where there’s one oh wowwww item that you can’t wait to open. I’m hoping Ipsy becomes that for me.

Box #2 (Alter-Ego profile)

Some deets: Light skin, black hair, amber eyes, 18.
(hahahahahaha, no wonder I got lip gloss)

Box Rating: 3.5
Full Size Products: 3 Deluxe Samples: 2 Foils: 0
Total Sample Value: $59.71
Total Personal Value: $22.95
+ Added Value: $5.00 for bag; 100 points =7.99
(redeemed 250 points for $19.99 pencil)
= Total Box Value = $35.94
Opinion: This was kind of neat as an experiment to see what I’d get for two different people. I didn’t get any duplicates. So that’s something. It’s a vast improvement from my first month of Ipsy on my original profile. I will keep both profiles for one more month (partially to use my points).

and just for fun…

My favorite items out of the combined boxes:
(aka: my perfect bag from these items)

  • Naked Cosmetics Mica Pigment in Sierra Nevada 02
  • tre’stiQue Baby Blush Stick in Bora Bora Coral
  • Luxie Beauty Small Tapered Blending Eye Brush 231
  • Ultra Moisturizing Argan Creme Facial Lotion
  • Smashbox Photo Finish Primer Oil

If you are not currently a subscriber, you can skip the wait to get the March bag by using this link. (I received this <— link in an email, it is not a referral link)

About Ipsy: Ipsy is the $10/month beauty subscription bag known for being more ‘makeup’ based. They ship you 4-6 deluxe to full size samples every month, inside a cute or chic makeup bag, all wrapped up in a bright pink bubble-wrap envelope. Samples are somewhat customized to your beauty profile, and come from a variety of well known to indie brands, ranging from high end to drugstore prices. You can earn ~100 points each month for reviewing your products and bag, and sharing those reviews on Facebook or Twitter. These points can then be redeemed for specific point rewards (samples/cosmetics) varying in value.

Sign-up for your first Ipsy Glambag, or check out my other Ipsy bag reviews!

Hey! Let’s connect!
Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest
also feel free to add me on Facebook as a friend 🙂

5 thoughts on “Double Ipsy Unbagging! {February 2016}

  1. Luxie is the love of my life currently! Haha I basically signed up for glossy last month JUST for that large rose gold angled brush! I think half the reason I keep my Ipsy may be because they have a tendency to send me brushes! Totally agree with you on the primer. I’ve actually been using it mixed with my sparkly shadows to do my eye halo instead of using it as a skin primer.

    Like

Hey girl!

