Boxes

Target Beauty Box {February 2016}

If you haven’t heard about Target’s near infamous Beauty Box, this is the fast-selling customer favorite that beauty buffs across the country vie for the second it hops on the market, following some blogs and Instagram’s specifically to get notifications about when this hits the virtual shelves. It’s known for selling out, and typically sells for around $5-$12 a month. Each box has a different theme, and what makes this box a little more unique is you see everything in the curated box before you order it. It’s also a one time purchase, not a subscription, so you can pick and choose… and battle it out to make it to the checkout cart in time before your fellow beauty lovers.

This month’s box is Sweet Treats. I wasn’t originally intending to pick this one up, but when I noticed the full size lip balm that somehow swayed me. (I have a problem, okay?)

So now… onto the contents of the box. The boys always have a blast diving right into the box to check out what we got.

img_20160208_155823.jpg
February 2016 Target Beauty Box Contents

Right off the bat, I knew before purchasing this that I would not be using the BB Cushion, or the Soapbox Factory Coconut Shampoo & Conditioner. The BB Cushion I sampled in last month’s box, and it’s completely not for me, so I gave it unopened to my mom for her to see if she likes it. The coconut scents always go to the boyfriend, I really am getting a little stash of things for him right now.

wp-1455165942760.jpg
February 2016 Target Beauty Box: products I’m not keeping

I also won’t be able to review my nail appliques in this review, because my cuticles are dry as hell after feeling a bit off for the past few weeks and I don’t want to add any new elements into them. They’re pretty adorable though, and they are one of the more expensive options ($2.00 difference across some variants) of nail wraps that could come in this box. The sizes line up almost perfectly with each of my fingers, and I love that there’s so many extras in this set! (please excuse my furry bed, the cats keep invading my room)

img_20160208_160144022.jpg
Nail Wraps from Incoco

Now for the down and dirty details;

What’s In The Box?

Soapbox Coconut Oil Shampoo
SAMPLE = 2 oz bottle
Passing on to boyfriend unopened due to coconut scent.
Rating: N/A
Sample Value: $0.74
My Value: $0.74
Will I buy it? N/A
Full Size Price: $5.99

Soapbox Coconut Oil Conditioner
SAMPLE = 2 oz bottle
Passing on to boyfriend unopened due to coconut scent.
Rating:
 N/A
Sample Value: $0.74
My Value: $0.74
Will I buy it? N/A
Full Size Price: $5.99

Mayfair Soap Foundry Body Crème in Sea Lily Jasmine
SAMPLE = 1 oz tube
Oh yay another lotion. But actually YES, YAY finally a lotion I LIKE. This smells so freaking good. It’s meant to be a body creme but it’s become a before bed or while typing hand cream for me because it’s non greasy, super moisturizing, and I loveee the scent. I legit have no complaints about this lotion. It’s almost perfect. It even beats out my B&BW. (it also pairs well with the perfume in the box, see below)
Rating: 5/5
Sample Value: $1.47
My Value: $1.47; this is perfectly priced for how  much use you’ll get out of it.
Will I buy it? When I stop having to use up lotion samples from boxes, this is on my list!
Full Size Price: $8.09

Vera Wang Embrace Eau de Toilette
SAMPLE = 0.04 oz spray vial
I’m very picky with perfumes, but this one is actually pretty nice. It claims to smell like green tea and pear blossom and I’d say that’s very accurate. It’s light and fruity. If you spray it on a concentrated area and immediately smell, it can be a bit strong, but if you hold it a bit away and mist, it’s such a pretty, light, girly scent. I’ll totally use this sample up when I’m in a perfume mood. It will lasted about 4-6 hours with one spray on a highly mobile area that gets washed often like wrists.
Rating: 4.5/5
Sample Value: $0.95
My Value: $0.95
Will I buy it? I don’t buy perfumes. But I’d definitely recommend it to someone that wears them often and likes fruitier scents.
Full Size Price: $23.99

L’Oreal Boost It Air Blown Texture Mist
FULL SIZE
This is the single product that delayed this review. I haven’t been wanting to put any products in my hair. Hell I haven’t even been wanting to wash my hair. But this isn’t bad. It feels a little sticky at first, but give it a few minutes, fluff it out and its got a pretty cool texture. I’m NOT a fan of the smell. It’s not overpowering by any means. But the actual scent of the product while you’re spraying it on isn’t exactly pleasant. I’ve yet to decide if I’ll keep it or pass it on to someone.
Rating: 3/5
Sample Value: $3.99
My Value: $3.99
Will I buy it? No
Full Size Price: $3.99

Skinfix Lip Repair Balm
FULL SIZE
I’m starting to get another little stash of lip balms built up. But this one is one of the reasons I got the box. I’ve been wearing this in the day, and a new one I got from Birchbox with points at night, and it’s kept my lips unchapped even sleeping with a heater aimed at my face (not my smartest move, I know, shut up, but my house is ancient and there’s no heating upstairs except for that little space heater). No real taste or scent one way or another, which is nice. It’s a bit too liquidy as a prep for liquid lipstick even if you dry it off or wipe it off soon after it will feel a bit slippery, but beyond that it’s pretty great. I don’t regret purchasing it for this.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $4.99
My Value: $3.59
Will I buy it? I have nothing against it. But it didn’t ‘wow’ me either.
Full Size Price: $4.99

Bath Pouf
FULL SIZE (obviously)
I’m not using this yet, but it’s one of the products you can tell the quality by looking and feeling. This is definitely one of the thicker and sturdier poufs, and it feels sooo soft. It’s a brand I’d swing by to grab if I’m needing a pouf. I’m in a yellow squooshy sponge stage right now though (Say that 10 times fast I dare you), so for now I’m keeping it new, since these should be replaced at LEAST ever 3-6 months.
Rating: 4.5/5
Sample Value: $1.97
My Value: $1.97, accurately priced.
Will I buy it? When I need a pouf, yes.
Full Size Price: $1.97

Laneige BB Cushion
SAMPLE PACKETS
I tried this in one of my January 2016 Target Beauty Boxes. I’m not a fan.
Rating: 0/5
Sample Value: $6.80
My Value: $0.00
Will I buy it? No. No way. I’d go makeupless and concealerless first.
Full Size Price: $34.00

Derma-e Hydrating Night Crème
SAMPLE = 0.5 oz tub
My first night creme! Am I a grown up now? I own things that say ‘day cream’ and ‘night cream’ (spellings ignored). It smells pretty good. Makes my skin feel super smooth. I used this around my eyes, and I could feel a difference in that it took away hollow dark circles and made the 4 day unmoisturized skin feel smoother and more ‘full’ (in a good healthy skin way not a fat bloated way). I used it while my skin was super dry and sensitive, so I’d like to test it when my skin isn’t acting up so much to get a better feel for it long-term.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $6.49
My Value: $3.99
Will I buy it? It’s a bit too pricey for me.
Full Size Price: $25.99

Incoco Nail Polish Applique in Painted Blossoms
FULL SIZE
I’m both in love and hate with this design. It reminds me of old lady floral, think granny panties… but I also have silky boyshorts that match this almost too well… so I’m not sure what that says about me. I’m not in a nail applique mood even besides my nails being wrecked, and I’d rather not waste them when I won’t enjoy them.
Update: They made my nails feel like they couldn’t breathe. I really think I might not be a nail wrap person. I’m barely a nail polish person.
Rating: 5/5 on size/shape/look
Sample Value: $6.99
My Value: $3.49
Will I buy it? I like the amount that’s included, I’d look out for this brand when I’m needing a nail look without the skills required to do it.
Full Size Price: $6.99

Evaluation of Box

Box Rating: 3.5
Full Size Products: 4 Deluxe Samples: 6 Foils: 0
Total Sample Value: $35.13
Total Personal Value: $20.93
+ Added Value: $3.00 off $15.00 purchase coupon
= Total Box Value = $23.93
Opinion: I didn’t Need this box. I was curious to test out the balm and figured that made it worth having another thing to share with you girls here. I don’t know if I’d have purchased the box if I wasn’t in a subscription/box phase, but I do not regret picking this up and getting to try the extra things. I think my favorite thing was the lip balm and the perfume, which is surprising in itself for me considering my tendency to avoid fragrances.

Hey! Let’s connect!
Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest
also feel free to add me on Facebook as a friend 🙂

2 thoughts on “Target Beauty Box {February 2016}

Hey girl!

