Updates

My Top 3 January Product Fails

This month I had subscriptions to Ipsy, Birchbox, Beauty Box 5, and picked up the Target Beauty Boxes. I also picked up a few items to flesh out my collection and experiment with. Some of those things were awesome… and some of them failed so much it’s almost comical.

#3 Fail: Nabi Matte Lipsticks

So these are available on Amazon for $14-$16 for 12 lipsticks. Sounds like a great deal right? Well I thought so too. I actually paid for the more expensive set based on the colors shown and then… got basically every color I wasn’t excited for from both versions of the kit.

Does this?

Look like this?

img_20160127_153908649.jpg

No. No it doesn’t.

Only 4 of these colors went on opaque in one swipe, the lightest colors took at least 6 swipes to swatch them, and that WAS over primer.

And the worst part? All but two colors absolutely would not fully cover my lips near the middle. That’s something I absolutely can’t stand in a lipstick and it’s a definite deal breaker for me.

wp-1454188430440.jpg
Left: forcing lips in, Right: natural, with gross lipstick gap. Blah! (sorry for the smear in both photos)

My lips naturally sit with a little bit of the ‘inner’ lip out, I have to consciously pull them in to avoid that gap.

airbrush_20160130131734.jpg
This is NOT cute. I expect my lipsticks to STICK, thanks.

If anyone has tips for this though I’d absolutely love to hear them. Thankfully Amazon is letting me send them back for a refund. Not even one of these colors was worth it.

#2 Fail: Revlon All In One Mascara

revlon all in one
Photo from Ulta.com

I got the Target box that this came in because hey full sized mascara that will cover the cost of the box… well… at least the rest of the box was worth it. Because I couldn’t stand this. It’s this teeny tiny little brush. It makes putting on mascara into a huge process and for me it felt clumpy and gross.

I gave it to mom to see if she wanted to try it and apparently she Is using it, although agrees that it takes forever, she’s had better luck with it separating the lashes nicely.

#1 Fail: Almay Smart Shade

wp-1454187042050.jpg
Almay Smart Shade Foundation in 100 and Concealer in 010.

Oh. My. God. I had suchhh high hopes for this when I saw it in Walmart. The color on the bottle is actually paler than me? Do you get how rare that is? I was ECSTATIC. And it’s smart shade?!? That will be awesome. It will blend perfectly and even lighten up a little more!

BEEEEP. Wrong. You are the weakest link, goodbye.

Almay Smart Shade Skintone Matching Makeup in 100.
Almay Smart Shade Skintone Matching Makeup in 100.

It darkens. It darkens as I rub it on my skin, or even on white paper. It darkens and it yellows. And then… it oxidizes on your skin and turns even darker. It left this hideous line on the side of my face in front of my ear that looked like I smeared milk chocolate in a mask across my skin after an hour. Jesus. How can a smart shade product be so dumb? Even adding my white Manic Panic in Virgin, this managed to darken it after. Which kinda sucks, Because other than over blemishes, this actually looked really smooth on my skin. 😦

January wasn’t all bad, but getting three things this bad made it worth it to condense them rather than get anyone hopeful with a review of a single item thinking it might be good. What did you try in January that just didn’t work?

Hey! Let’s connect!
Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest
also feel free to add me on Facebook as a friend 🙂

Hey girl!

