Boxes

Beauty Box 5 Unboxing {January 2016}

With the theme of ‘Er’ythang Done’ this box was pretty cool. Although a little intimidating when initially opened. I don’t know about you but when the products look like things I can’t begin to understand (it wasn’t in English… I’m not Just a ditz, promise!), I have NO idea what to do with it.

IMG_20160116_130808

But even that product turned out pretty fun to try.

About Beauty Box 5: Beauty Box 5 is a fun subscription box that sends you 5 deluxe samples and full size products every month in a cute teal box for $12.00 per month, or as low as $8.25 with a longer subscription term.

The boxes are curated, with a little variation to colors or flavors you receive such as with nail polish or lip balm. They do not currently tailor to your beauty profile, but are setting up to do so in the future, and their Instagram gives out great previews of what you can see in your box before it ships out by the 9th of the month. Their typical box is full of pretty, practical, and highly usable beauty products that add some extra fun to your beauty routine. Grab the box here!

(Use HALFOFF code for $6.00 off – 1/2 first box price – w/quarterly for $8.00/box.)

When you place your order, you have the option if you’re super impatient (like me) to purchase an additional box: “The Mystery Box” for $10.00.

What’s In The Box?

IMG_20160116_165858876

Bodipure Keratin Gloves
FULL SIZE (1 pair)
This was one of the weirdest things I’ve ever heard of, but then hey… I did like sheet masks. Sooo I tried it. It seemed like it left a ton of serum on most of my hands, but it did soak in well to my horribly dry and raw cuticles and made them look and feel much better. I was still able to use my phone while they were on too without making a mess, and it was kind of cool, if a little weird, to cut the finger tips off and push the cuticles back.
Rating: 3/5
Sample Value: $5.00
My Value: $2.00
Would I buy it? My hands don’t get dry enough to need this.
Full Size Value: $5.00

nails, inc. Nail Polish in Hyde Park Place
FULL SIZE
This was never a color I could imagine myself buying. But it’s so cute and chic. It goes on smoothly and in 2 coats is perfectly opaque. I did not have a topcoat or base to use with this, and it lasted around 4 days without chipping.
Rating: 4.5/5
Sample Value: $9.99
My Value: $3.00
Would I buy it? I don’t commonly purchase nail polish, especially since I’m receiving them in sample boxes now. It is a brand I would look for specifically for sales when I want to pick up a new color.
Full Size Value: $9.99

IMG_20160117_101452629
polish + nail wraps

Scratch Custom Accent Nail Wraps
FULL SIZE (according to card)
So… my first nail wraps. Kinda cool. clear film with the design on it that sticks down to your nails. I’m not quite sure how this is full size. It was 4 wraps, the site sells sets of 8. I did actually use it on 9 nails, because they were plenty long enough to trim into a new round edge and use again. You were also supposed to use a top coat with this, which would have prevented any issues I had with it. I also received a coupon for 50% off my first kit from Scratch. They have a lot of unique designs that could be really cool for special occasions, and some are still currently on a ‘holiday deal’ for $4.00 off a set of 8 nail wraps. Neat thing to try.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $6.00
My Value: $2.50
Will I repurchase? On sale, yes
Full Size Value: $12.00 for 8 wraps

Novex Bamboo Sprout Deep Conditioning Treatment
SAMPLE = 1.1 oz foil
Kind of a weird concept. This is the foil that came with the instructions on it in another language. But googling the product brought it right up with how to use it. I had enough even on my thick hair to use it twice, and the second time I barely rinsed it out and my hair felt a little more luxurious even after more washes without the treatment.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $1.17
My Value: $1.50
Would I buy it? My hair doesn’t need it.
Full Size Value: $14.99

Not Your Mother’s Haircare Plump For Joy
SAMPLE = 2 oz bottle
This is the first texturizing spray I’ve ever tried and enjoy. It smells decent, rubs into the hair beautifully for just a little edge and piecey volume, and lasts all day. It lives up to the brand hype I’ve heard.
Rating: 4.5/5
Sample Value: $1.75
My Value: $1.75
Would I buy it? I’d purchase another product from this brand.
Full Size Value: $7.00

Salon Grafix Professional Freezing Hair Spray
SAMPLE = 1.5 oz aerosol can
I’m not a big fan of hair spray, and I’ve now received 3 from various sample boxes. As far as this compares, it’s very good at smoothing down the fly-aways and picking up the hair too short to get into a ponytail to smooth it up sleek as well. I’m not a big fan of the smell, but that’s basically everything aerosol. I also received a coupon off my purchase of a 10 oz Salon Grafix product.
Rating: 3/5
Sample Value: $2.14
My Value: $1.50
Would I buy it? I don’t like using hairspray. It does work well if you like it and holds your hair nicely without feeling crunchy.
Full Size Value: $6.99

Box Evaluation

Overall Box Rating: 4.5
Total Sample Value: $26.05
Total Personal Value: $12.25
+ Added Value: coupons not counted in total
= Total Box Value: $12.25
Opinion: There wasn’t an “OH MY GOD YES!” product in this box, which would make it a perfect 5 for me, since being so excited is awesome, but I really did like everything in the box with the exception of the hairspray which just isn’t for me but is widely used. The biggest surprise and favorite of this box ended up being the nail polish, which is just such a chic color that I never would have predicted liking!! I love the variety and the (to me) obscure product types that Beauty Box 5 has sent me so far, and I do look forward to this little teal box in the mail.

Sign-up for Beauty Box 5, or check out the other Beauty Box 5 boxes I’ve received.

Hey! Let’s connect!
Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest
also feel free to add me on Facebook as a friend 🙂

One thought on “Beauty Box 5 Unboxing {January 2016}

Hey girl!

