Boxes

Birchbox Moodboard Your Year {January 2016}

The theme of this month’s official Birchbox is Moodboard Your Year. It’s pretty cool, because it fits in very well with the fact that I get into goals and resolutions very strongly, especially throughout December and January. It’s a cutesy little pink, mauve, and peach box, with little stickers of different focuses and themes that you can use on the cover of your box to answer the question “2016 [is] the year of ___”.

January 2016 Birchbox Unboxing

About Birchbox: Birchbox is a $10/month subscription box filled with 4-6 beauty & cosmetics samples every month, delivered to your door in an adorable and reusable box. You will primarily receive deluxe samples with a few full size products every month or two. Your samples are moderately tailored to your beauty profile, and you can earn back $6.00 of your subscription cost in store credit every month by sharing your bag to social media (Facebook or Twitter) through the Birchbox website or app, and reviewing your items on the site.

Birchbox is currently unique in having the option each month to choose 1 of your samples from a selection, choose the curated box, OR leave your box random.

Sign-up for Birchbox, or see more of my Birchbox reviews!

Birchbox Korean Beauty Box
Click here to see the Korean Beauty Box.

What’s Inside?

Birchbox January 2016 Moodboard

Whish – Three Whishes Body Butter in Lavender
SAMPLE = 0.75 tube
I’m very picky with my lotions, and there’s so many of them out there, especially in the sample world. This isn’t a bad lotion. It’s very light, and it works best for me as in places that I just need a light moisturizer rather than slathering on lotion under socks or such for super soft skin in the morning.  I’m not a big fan of Lavender, and this is a stronger fragrance, but doesn’t smell chemically or harsh
Rating: 3/5
Sample Value: $3.55
My Value: $3.50
Would I buy it? It’s coming in my other box this month as well, so I won’t need to for quite a while, even if I learn that primer will be a daily thing for me.
Birchbox Price: $24.00

BioRepublic Skincare – Pomegranate Crush Illuminating Mask 
SAMPLE = 1 mask
Compared to the other sheet masks I’ve tried, I’m not as much of a fan of this one. It smells less natural and didn’t feel quite as nice on my skin, leaving a sticky residue for around 30 minutes after removing the mask. Though I did see nice results in my skin between that and the other products I tried this month.
Rating: 3/5
Sample Value: $4.83
My Value: $1.50
Would I buy it? Probably not. There’s others I like better.
Birchbox Price: $14.50 for 5 masks

IPKN Flash Cream Radiant Primer
SAMPLE = 0.24 oz tube
I received this sample in both my Korean curated box and my official Birchbox this month, and it’s a decent primer. It feels like it helps to seal in my acne treatments and create more of a barrier between that and a makeup, and there is a difference in that with the primer my makeup lasts a few hours longer and doesn’t come off on things like my phone screen. I do prefer the Smashbox primer that I received as a Birchbox freebie this month (see review here) NOTE: Since trying the Smashbox primer my value dropped in comparison, knowing now what primers can really do.
Rating: 4/5
Sample Value: $4.97
My Value: $3.00
Would I buy it? Probably not. I have enough, and it’s not my preference.
Birchbox Price: $28.00

Eyeko Fat Liquid Eyeliner
FULL SIZE
This was my sample choice for this month, despite having received one before, because it’s AMAZING (and a really valuable ‘sample’). It’s my go-to eyeliner because wings are a breeze and it dries to smudgeproof in literally seconds. As it says, it is a ‘fat’ liner, so don’t expect subtle without a good bit of dexterity in the technique. I also received this in my Customer Favorites box and as one of my Birchbox Freebies.
Rating: 5/5
Sample Value: 
$16.00
My Value:
$16.00
Would I buy it? 
I can’t let myself run out!
Birchbox Price:
$16.00

amika Perk Up Dry Shampoo
SAMPLE = 0.75 oz spray can
Another duplicate this month, but one I’m more than happy to have. It’s a wonderful dry shampoo, it’s the best one I’ve tried, but it is a little pricey, and it’s a nicer feeling to relax in the shower and wash my hair than to spend much money on a dry shampoo to make it feel clean. (My original review)
Rating:
4.5/5
Sample Value: 
$3.11
My Value: 
$1.50
Would I buy it? 
It’s about twice the price I’d pay for any dry shampoo.
Birchbox Price: 
$22.00

Box Summary

Box Rating: 4
Full Size Products: Deluxe Samples: 4 Foils: 0
Total Sample Value:
 $32.46
Total Personal Value: $24.00
+ Added Value: $6.00 credit (60 Birchbox Points)
= Total Box Value = $30.00
Opinion: Birchbox has proven to be my absolute favorite subscription so far. The misses are things that I’d normally use and just that specific product didn’t work for me. I’m in love with their rewards system and already excited for both of my February boxes.

Hey! Let’s connect!
Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest
also feel free to add me on Facebook as a friend 🙂

Hey girl!

